EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order gives effect to recommendations by the Local Government Commission for England for electoral changes in the District of South Lakeland.

Article 2 abolishes all of the existing wards of the District and provides for the creation of 47 new wards. That article and Schedule 1 also make provision for the names and areas of, and numbers of councillors for, the new wards.

Article 3 makes provision for a whole council election in South Lakeland in 1999 and for reversion to elections by thirds in subsequent years. Schedule 2 provides for the order of retirement of councillors.

Article 4 abolishes the existing wards of the parish of Kendal and provides for the creation of fourteen new wards each with two councillors.

Article 5 abolishes the existing wards of the parish of Ulverston and provides for the creation of six new wards each with three councillors.

Article 6 abolishes the existing wards of the parish of Windermere and provides for the creation of four new wards each with five councillors.

Article 7 with Schedule 3 abolish the existing wards of the parish of Pennington and provides for the creation of two new wards.

Article 8 makes provision for parish elections.

The areas of the new district and parish wards are demarcated on the map described in article 1(3). Prints of the map may be inspected at all reasonable times at the offices of South Lakeland City Council and at the offices of the Secretary of State for the Environment, Transport and the Regions which are located at 2nd Floor, Ashdown House, 123 Victoria Street, London SW1E 6DE.