STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

1998 No. 2548

The District of South Lakeland (Electoral Changes) Order 1998

Parish elections

- **8.**—(1) The ordinary elections of parish councillors for the parishes of Broughton East, Coniston, Crook, Natland, Skelwith, Stainton and Torver in 1999 shall not take place; and any such parish councillor holding office immediately before 10th May 1999 who would, but for this paragraph, have retired on that date shall, unless he resigns his office or it otherwise becomes vacant, continue to hold office until 8th May 2000.
- (2) Elections of all parish councillors for the parishes of Egton with Newland, Lower Holker, Lowick, Mansriggs, Osmotherley and Underbarrow and Bradleyfield shall be held simultaneously on the ordinary day of election of councillors in 1999 and every fourth year after 1999.
- (3) Elections of all parish councillors for the parishes of Blawith and Subberthwaite, Burton-in-Kendal, Cartmel Fell, Claife, Colton, Crosthwaite and Lyth, Haverthwaite, Hawkshead, Helsington, Heversham, Holme, Hugill, Levens, Meathop and Ulpha, Milnthorpe, Nether Staveley, Over Staveley, Satterthwaite, Sedgwick, Staveley-in-Cartmel, Ulverston, Upper Allithwaite and Witherslack shall be held simultaneously on the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2000 and every fourth year after 2000.
- (4) Elections of all parish councillors for the parishes of Dent, Garsdale, Kendal, Lakes and Sedbergh shall be held simultaneously on the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2002 and every fourth year after 2002.
- (5) The ordinary elections of all parish councillors for the parishes of Pennington, Scalthwaiterigg and Skelsmergh in 2002 shall not take place; and any such parish councillor holding office immediately before 2nd May 2002 who would, but for this paragraph, have retired on that date shall, unless he resigns his office or it otherwise becomes vacant, continue to hold office until 5th May 2003.
- (6) Except as otherwise provided in the foregoing paragraphs of this article, the term of office of parish councillors shall be four years and all parish councillors shall retire on the fourth day after the ordinary day of election of councillors in the year of retirement and the newly elected parish councillors shall come into office on the day on which their predecessors retire.
- (7) Rule 8 of the Local Elections (Parishes and Communities) Rules 1986(1) (filling of casual vacancies) shall have effect—
 - (a) in the case of a casual vacancy occurring before 8th May 2000 in the office of a parish councillor for the parishes of Broughton East, Coniston, Crook, Natland, Skelwith, Stainton and Torver as if the references in paragraphs (1) and (4) of that rule to the day on which that councillor would regularly have retired were a reference to 8th May 2000; and
 - (b) in the case of a casual vacancy occurring before 5th May 2003 in the office of a parish councillor for the parishes of Pennington, Scalthwaiterigg and Skelsmergh as if the references in paragraphs (1) and (4) of that rule to the day on which that councillor would regularly have retired were a reference to 5th May 2003.

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.