STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

1997 No. 1992

The Local Government Changes for England (Lord-Lieutenants and Sheriffs) Order 1997

Lord-Lieutenants

2. In the Lieutenancies Act 1997(1), in paragraph 3 of Schedule 1 (counties in England for the purposes of the Act), the following entries shall be inserted at the appropriate place in the Table in alphabetical order-

Cheshire, Halton and Warrington"(3);
Devon, Plymouth and Torbay"(4);
Essex, Southend-on-Sea and Thurrock"(5);
Kent and the Medway Towns"(6);
Lancashire, Blackburn and Blackpool"(7);
Nottinghamshire and Nottingham"(8); and
Shropshire and The Wrekin"(9).

^{(1) 1997} c. 23.

A county of Peterborough is constituted on 1st April 1998 by S.I.1996/1878.

⁽³⁾ Counties of Halton and Warrington are constituted on 1st April 1998 by S.I. 1996/1863.

 ⁽⁴⁾ Counties of Plymouth and Torbay are constituted on 1st April 1998 by S.I. 1996/1865.
(5) Counties of Southend-on-Sea and Thurrock are constituted on 1st April 1998 by S.I. 1996/1875.

⁽⁶⁾ A county of the Medway Towns is constituted on 1st April 1998 by S.I. 1996/1876.

⁽⁷⁾ Counties of Blackburn and Blackpool are constituted on 1st April 1998 by S.I. 1996/1868.

⁽⁸⁾ A county of Nottingham is constituted on 1st April 1998 by S.I. 1996/1877.

⁽⁹⁾ A county of The Wrekin is constituted on 1st April 1998 by S.I. 1996/1866.