EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order divides Scotland up into areas for the purposes of the provisions of the Reserve Forces Act 1980 relating to lieutenancies. Article 3(a) and Schedule 1 create and name each of the lieutenancies in Scotland except those lieutenancies which are made up of the four city areas of Aberdeen, Dundee, Edinburgh and Glasgow. Those city areas are in any event lieutenancies by virtue of section 131(2) of the said Act of 1980. Article 3(b) and Schedule 2 make provision for certain deputy lieutenants to hold office in an area or city other than that in which they reside.