#### STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

# 1996 No. 1867

# The Hereford and Worcester (Structural, Boundary and Electoral Changes) Order 1996

## PART II

### **BOUNDARY CHANGES**

#### **Constitution of new county**

- **4.**—(1) A new non-metropolitan county of Worcestershire shall be constituted and shall comprise the areas of—
  - (a) the existing city of Worcester(1);
  - (b) the existing borough of Redditch(2);
  - (c) the existing districts of Bromsgrove, Wychavon and Wyre Forest; and
  - (d) the new district of Malvern Hills.
- (2) During the period beginning with the date on which this article comes into force and ending immediately before the reorganisation date, the new county of Worcestershire shall not be a county for the purposes of—
  - (a) the Sheriffs Act 1887(3);
  - (b) the Education Acts 1944 to 1994;
  - (c) sections 130 and 133 to 137 of the Reserve Forces Act 1980 (which make provision in respect of the lieutenancies)(4); or
  - (d) the Coroners Act 1988(5).

<sup>(1)</sup> The non-metropolitan district of Worcester has the status of a city.

<sup>(2)</sup> The non-metropolitan district of Redditch has the status of a borough.

<sup>(3) 1887</sup> c. 55.

<sup>(4) 1980</sup> c. 9.

<sup>(5) 1988</sup> c. 13.