SCHEDULE 12

ADDITIONAL PROVISIONS FOR SLAUGHTER BY A RELIGIOUS METHOD

PART IV

THE RABBINICAL COMMISSION FOR THE LICENSING OF SHOCHETIM

Membership

- 11. The Rabbinical Commission for the licensing of Shochetim (in this Part referred to as "the Commission") shall consist of a permanent chairman and nine other members.
- **12.** The Chief Rabbi of the United Hebrew Congregations of Great Britain and the Commonwealth shall, by virtue of his office, be the permanent chairman of the Commission.
 - 13. Of the members of the Commission other than the permanent chairman—
 - (a) one, who shall be a vice-chairman, shall be appointed by the Spanish and Portuguese Synagogue (London);
 - (b) three shall be appointed by the Beth Din appointed by the United Synagogue (London);
 - (c) two shall be appointed by the Federation of Synagogues (London);
 - (d) one shall be appointed by the Union of Orthodox Hebrew Congregations (London); and
 - (e) two shall be appointed by the president for the time being of the London committee of deputies of British Jews to represent provincial congregations.

Supplementary provisions

- **14.** The functions of the Commission shall be exercisable notwithstanding any vacancy amongst the members thereof.
 - **15.** The quorum of the Commission shall be four.