#### STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

## 1994 No. 428

# REPRESENTATION OF THE PEOPLE

The European Parliamentary Constituencies (Wales) Order 1994

Made - - - - 24th February 1994
Coming into force in accordance with article 1(2)

At the Court of Saint James, the 24th day of February 1994
Present,
The Counsellors of State in Council

Whereas Her Majesty in pursuance of the Regency Acts 1937 to 1953 was pleased, by Letters Patent dated the 16th February 1994, to delegate to the six Counsellors of State therein named or any two or more of them full power and authority during the period of Her Majesty's absence from the United Kingdom to summon and hold on Her Majesty's behalf Her Privy Council and to signify thereat Her Majesty's approval for anything for which Her Majesty's approval in Council is required:

And whereas in pursuance of paragraph 5 of Part II of the Schedule to the European Parliamentary Elections Act 1993(1), the European Parliamentary Constituencies Committee for Wales have submitted to the Secretary of State a report dated 16th December 1993 showing the European Parliamentary constituencies into which they recommend that Wales should be divided:

And whereas the Secretary of State has laid that report before Parliament together with the draft of this Order in Council for giving effect to the recommendations contained in the report and each House of Parliament has by resolution approved that draft;

Now, therefore, Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth, The Queen Mother, and His Royal Highness The Prince Edward, being authorised thereto by the said Letters Patent, and in pursuance of paragraph 8(5) of Part II of the Schedule to the European Parliamentary Elections Act 1993, by and with the advice of Her Majesty's Privy Council, do on Her Majesty's behalf order, and it is hereby ordered, as follows:

**1.**—(1) This Order may be cited as the European Parliamentary Constituencies (Wales) Order 1994.

- (2) Subject to paragraph 8 of Schedule 2 to the European Parliamentary Elections Act 1978(2), this Order shall come into force when section 1 of the European Parliamentary Elections Act 1993 comes into force for all purposes or all remaining purposes, as the case may be.
- 2. For all the European Parliamentary constituencies in Wales (which are described in the European Parliamentary Constituencies (Wales) Order 1984(3) and the European Parliamentary Constituencies (Wales) (Miscellaneous Changes) Order 1989(4)) there shall be substituted the European Parliamentary constituencies which are named in column 1 of the Schedule to this Order and comprise the parliamentary constituencies specified opposite thereto in column 2 of that Schedule, being parliamentary constituencies as they exist on 16th December 1993 and as described in the Parliamentary Constituencies (Wales) Order 1983(5) and the Parliamentary Constituencies (Wales) (Miscellaneous Changes) Orders 1986(6), 1987(7) and 1993(8).

N. H. Nicholls Clerk of the Privy Council

<sup>(2) 1978</sup> c. 10; paragraph 8(1) was amended by paragraph 5(9) of Schedule 3 to the Parliamentary Constituencies Act 1986 (c. 56) and the title of the 1978 Act was amended by section 3(1)(b) and (2)(b) of the European Communities (Amendment) Act 1986 (c. 58) on the coming into force of the Single European Act (Cmnd. 9758).

S.I. 1984/545. (4) S.I. 1989/487.

<sup>(5)</sup> S.I. 1983/418.

<sup>(6)</sup> S.I. 1986/2231.

<sup>(7)</sup> S.I. 1987/2050.

<sup>(8)</sup> S.I. 1993/227.

## SCHEDULE Article 2

## NAMES AND AREAS OF EUROPEAN PARLIAMENTARY CONSTITUENCIES IN WALES

1	2
Name	Contents
North Wales	The parliamentary constituencies of— Alyn and Deeside Caernarfon Clwyd North West Clwyd South West Conwy Delyn Wrexham Ynys Môn
Mid and West Wales	The parliamentary constituencies of— Brecknock and Radnorshire Carmarthen Ceredigion Gogledd Penfro Llanelli Meirionnydd Nant Conwy Montgomeryshire Pembroke
South Wales West	The parliamentary constituencies of— Aberavon Bridgend Gower Neath Ogmore Swansea East Swansea West
South Wales Central	The parliamentary constituencies of— Cardiff Central Cardiff North Cardiff South and Penarth Cardiff West Cynon Valley Pontypridd Rhondda Vale of Glamorgan
South Wales East	The parliamentary constituencies of— Blaenau Gwent Caerphilly Islwyn Merthyr Tydfil and Rhymney Monmouth Newport East Newport West Torfaen

#### **EXPLANATORY NOTE**

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order gives effect without modification to the recommendations contained in the report of the European Parliamentary Constituencies Committee for Wales dated 16th December 1993. That Committee was established under the European Parliamentary Elections Act 1993 for the purpose of determining the European Parliamentary constituencies into which Wales should initially be divided in order to give effect to the increase (of one) that section 1 of that Act made to the number of such constituencies. This Order is expressed to come into force on the date when that section comes into force for all purposes (or all remaining purposes), but the effect of paragraph 8(1) of Schedule 2 to the European Parliamentary Elections Act 1978 (which applies by virtue of paragraph 8(5) of the Schedule to the 1993 Act) is that the constituencies constituted by this Order will only have effect from the first general election of representatives to the European Parliament after this Order comes into force.

Article 2 of, and the Schedule to, this Order set out the European Parliamentary constituencies into which Wales is to be divided.