## APPENDIX

## SCHEME FOR THE ADMINISTRATION OF THE CHARITY KNOWN AS THE ROYAL PHILANTHROPIC SOCIETY

## HONORARY OFFICERS AND GENERAL COMMITTEE

- 6. Honorary Officers and General Committee.—
- (1) There shall be the following Honorary Officers of the Charity and such other Honorary Officers as the General Committee may from time to time decide (hereinafter together referred to as "the Officers"):—
  - A President,
  - A Vice-President or Vice-Presidents,
  - A Chairman,
  - A Vice-Chairman or Vice-Chairmen,
  - A Treasurer.
- (2) The members of the General Committee (hereinafter referred to as the Committee members)shall be the Chairman, the Vice-Chairman or Vice-Chairmen and the Treasurer and not fewer than 3 nor more than 20 elected members.
- (3) The President, the Vice-President or Vice-Presidents, the Chairman, or Vice-Chairmen and the Committee members shall be members of the Charity and shall, except at first as hereinafter provided and subject as hereinafter provided for casual vacancies, be elected at the Annual Court. The President and the Vice-President or Vice-Presidents, while members, shall hold office for life and the Committee members shall (subject to the provisions of clause 9 of this Scheme) hold office until the end of the Annual Court next after the date of their election.
- (4) No election of a Chairman or Vice-Chairman shall result in his or her holding office for more than four consecutive years, unless a resolution to the contrary has first been passed by the Charity in General Court.
- (5) The following persons shall be the first Officers and shall hold office for the following periods respectively:—

The President—The Right Reverend Wilfred Denniston Wood, Bishop of Croydon, ofSt. Matthew's House, 100 George Street, in the London Borough of Croydon, for life,

The Vice-President—Hugh Alexander McCalman, of 34 Oakdene Road, Redhill, in the County of Surrey, for life,

The Chairman—Norman Warner, of 8 College Gardens, Dulwich, in the London Borough of Southwark, until the end of the Annual Court next after the date upon which this Scheme comes into effect,

Vice-Chairman—Anna Martin, of 192 Send Road, Woking, in the County of Surrey, until the end of the Annual Court as aforesaid, and

Vice-Chairman—Colonel Archibald Pagan, MBE, of Hillside Lodge, The Drive, Godalming, in the said County, until the end of the Annual Court as aforesaid, and

The Treasurer—Roger Chadder, of 64 Church Road, Wimbledon, in the London Borough of Merton, until the end of the Annual Court as aforesaid.

(6) The following persons shall be the first Committee members and shall hold office until the end of the Annual Court as aforesaid:—

Angela Margaret Alabaster, of South Pavilion Cottage, Colley Lane, Reigate, in the County of Surrey,

Norman Victor Childs, of 248 Seal Road, Sevenoaks, in the County of Kent,

Joyce Isobel Crosfield, JP, of The White House, Beech Road, Merstham, in the County of Surrey,

Alan Hampson Fogg, of Albury Edge, Rockshaw Road, Merstham, in the said County,

Lettice Elizabeth Lachelin, of The Old Coach House, Coopers Hill Road, Nutfield, in the said County,

Thomas Pierre Hilbery Lachelin, of Nutgrove House, Nutgrove Lane, Chew Magna, in the County of Avon,

Alan Aubrey Smith, of 2 Brownlow Road, Redhill, in the County of Surrey, and

Caroline Whitehead, of 21 Pentlow Street, Putney, in the London Borough of Wandsworth.

- **7.** Co-opted members. The General Committee may if it thinks fit co-opt not more than two persons, being members of the Charity, as additional members of the General Committee to hold office until the end of the Annual Court next after the date of their appointment.
- **8.** Declaration by Officers and Committee members. No Officer or Committee member shall be entitled to act until after signing in the minute book of the General Committee a declaration of willingness to act in the trusts of this Scheme.
- **9.** Determination of Committee membership. Any Committee member who is adjudged bankrupt or makes a composition or arrangement with his or her creditors or who is incapacitated from acting or who communicates in writing to the General Committee a wish to resign shall cease thereupon to be a Committee member.
- **10.** Casual vacancies. The General Committee may fill casual vacancies in their number and (subject to the provisions of clause 9 of this Scheme) the persons so appointed shall be entitled to hold office until the end of the Annual Court next following the date of their appointment.