Search Legislation

The Copyright (Application to Other Countries) Order 1993

 Help about what version

What Version

  • Latest available (Revised)
  • Original (As made)

More Resources


This is the original version (as it was originally made). This item of legislation is currently only available in its original format.

Article 4(1), (2) and (5)


(The countries specified in this Schedule either are parties to the Rome Convention for the Protection of Performers, Producers of Phonograms and Broadcasting Organisations and/or the European Agreement on the Protection of Television Broadcasts or otherwise give adequate protection under their law.)

  • Argentina (2nd March 1992)

  • Australia (30th September 1992)

  • Austria (9th June 1973)

  • Barbados (18th September 1983)

  • Belgium (8th March 1968—television only)

  • Brazil (29th September 1965)

  • Burkina Faso (14th January 1988)

  • Chile (5th September 1974)

  • Colombia (17th September 1976)

  • Congo (18th May 1964)

  • Costa Rica (9th September 1971)

  • Cyprus, Republic of (5th May 1970

  • Czechoslovakia (14th August 1964)

  • Denmark (including Greenland and the Faeroe Islands) (1st February 1962—television; 1st July 1965—non-television)

  • Dominican Republic (27th January 1987)

  • Ecuador (18th May 1964)

  • El Salvador (29th June 1979)

  • Fiji (I 11th April 1972)

  • Finland (21st October 1983)

  • France (including 11 Overseas Departments and Territories) (1st July 1961—television; 3rd July 1987—television only)

  • 1987—non-television)

  • Germany (21st October 1966)

  • Greece (6th January 1993)

  • Guatemala (14th January 1977)

  • Honduras (16th February 1990)

  • Ireland, Republic of (19th September 1979)

  • Italy (8th April 1975)

  • Japan (26th October 1989)

  • Lesotho (26th January 1990)

  • Luxembourg (25th February 1976)

  • Malawi (22nd June 1989)

  • Malaysia (1st June 1957)

  • Mexico (18th May 1964)

  • Monaco (6th December 1985)

  • Niger (18th May 1964)

  • Norway (lOth August 1968—television; 10th July 1978—non-television)

  • Panama (2nd September 1983)

  • Paraguay (26th February 1970)

  • Peru (7th August 1985)

  • Philippines (25th September 1984)

  • Singapore (1st June 1957)

  • Spain (19th November 1971—television; 14th November 1991—non-television)

  • Sweden (1st July 1961—television; 18th May 1964—non-television)

  • Uruguay (4th July 1977)

Back to top


Print Options


Legislation is available in different versions:

Latest Available (revised):The latest available updated version of the legislation incorporating changes made by subsequent legislation and applied by our editorial team. Changes we have not yet applied to the text, can be found in the ‘Changes to Legislation’ area.

Original (As Enacted or Made): The original version of the legislation as it stood when it was enacted or made. No changes have been applied to the text.


Opening Options

Different options to open legislation in order to view more content on screen at once


More Resources

Access essential accompanying documents and information for this legislation item from this tab. Dependent on the legislation item being viewed this may include:

  • the original print PDF of the as enacted version that was used for the print copy
  • lists of changes made by and/or affecting this legislation item
  • confers power and blanket amendment details
  • all formats of all associated documents
  • correction slips
  • links to related legislation and further information resources