STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

1991 No. 650

OFFSHORE INSTALLATIONS

The Offshore Installations (Safety Zones) (No. 2)Order 1991

 Made
 8th March 1991

 Coming into force
 5th April 1991

The Secretary of State, in exercise of the powers conferred on him by section 22(1) and (2) of the Petroleum Act 1987(1) (hereinafter referred to as "the Act"), and of all other powers enabling him in that behalf, hereby makes the following Order:

- **1.** This Order may be cited as the Offshore Installations (Safety Zones) (No. 2) Order 1991 and shall come into force on 5th April 1991.
- 2. A safety zone is hereby established around each of the installations specified in Column 2 of the Schedule hereto (being installations stationed in waters to which subsection (7) of section 21 of the Act applies) having a radius of five hundred metres from the point as respects each installation which has the co-ordinates of latitude and longitude according to European Datum (1950) specified with respect to the installation in Columns 3 and 4 of the Schedule.

Colin Moynihan
Parliamentary Under Secretary of State,
Department of Energy

8th March 1991

SCHEDULE

Article 2

SAFETY ZONES

(1)	(2)	(3)	(4)
Number	Name or other designation of the offshore installation	Latitude North	Longitude East
1.	Chanter Wellhead Protection Unit	58°23'27.040"	00°22'15.725"
2.	Saltire Wellhead Protection Unit	50°25'31.037"	00°22'0.5336"

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order establishes, under section 22 of the Petroleum Act 1987, safety zones, having a radius of 500 metres from a specified point, around the installations specified in the Schedule to the Order and stationed in waters to which section 21(7) of that Act applies (these include territorial waters and waters in areas designated under section 1(7) of the Continental Shelf Act 1964 (c. 29)).

Vessels (which for this purpose include hovercraft, submersible apparatus and installations in transit) are prohibited from entering or remaining in a safety zone except with the consent of the Secretary of State or in accordance with regulations made under section 23(1) of the Act (currently the Offshore Installations (Safety Zones) Regulations 1987 (S.I.1987/1331)).