STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

1989 No. 1173

AGRICULTURAL EMPLOYMENT

AGRICULTURAL WAGES

The Agricultural Wages Committees (Cleveland, Durham, Northumberland and Tyne and Wear) Order 1989

Made -

7th July 1989

Coming into force

1st August 1989

Whereas there have been passed, in the case of each of the committees for the county and existing combination of counties referred to in article 2 hereof, resolutions under the provisions of proviso (b) in section 2(1) of the Agricultural Wages Act 1948(a),

The Minister of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food, as respects England, and the Secretary of State, as respects Wales, in exercise of the powers conferred by section 2(1) of the said Act and now vested in them(b) and of all their other enabling powers, hereby order as follows:-

Title and commencement

1. This Order may be cited as the Agricultural Wages Committees (Cleveland, Durham, Northumberland and Tyne and Wear) Order 1989 and shall come into force on 1st August 1989.

Establishment of a new agricultural wages committee

2. Instead of the separate agricultural wages committees for the county of Northumberland and for the existing combination of the counties of Cleveland, Durham and Tyne and Wear, there shall be an agricultural wages committee for the following combination of counties, namely:-

Cleveland, Durham, Northumberland and Tyne and Wear.

Amendment of the Agricultural Wages Committees (Areas) Order 1974

3. The Agricultural Wages Committees (Areas) Order 1974(a) shall be amended by substituting for the provisions of the Schedule thereto the provisions set out in the Schedule to this Order.

In witness whereof the Official Seal of the Minister of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food is hereunto affixed on 7th July 1989.



John MacGregor Minister of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food

6th July 1989

Peter Walker Secretary of State for Wales

SCHEDULE

Article 3

PART I

COUNTIES FOR WHICH THERE ARE SEPARATE AGRICULTURAL WAGES COMMITTEES

Cumbria Devon Humberside

Clwyd

Counties in England Lincolnshire Norfolk North Yorkshire

Counties in Wales

Gwent

Gwynedd

Powys

Shropshire

Suffolk

PART II

COMBINATIONS OF COUNTIES FOR WHICH THERE ARE AGRICULTURAL WAGES COMMITTEES

Counties in England Bedfordshire, Cambridgeshire and Northamptonshire Berkshire, Buckinghamshire and Oxfordshire Cheshire and Staffordshire Cleveland, Durham, Northumberland and Tyne and Wear Cornwall and Isles of Scilly Derbyshire, Leicestershire and Nottinghamshire Dorset and Somerset East Sussex and Kent Essex and Hertfordshire Gloucestershire, Avon and Wiltshire

(a) S.I. 1974/515, amended by S.I. 1981/9 and 179.

Dyfed

Hampshire and Isle of Wight Hereford and Worcester, Warwickshire and West Midlands Lancashire, Greater Manchester and Merseyside South Yorkshire and West Yorkshire Surrey and West Sussex

Counties in Wales

Mid Glamorgan, South Glamorgan and West Glamorgan

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order establishes an agricultural wages committee for the new combination of counties of Cleveland, Durham, Northumberland and Tyne and Wear, in the place of separate committees for Northumberland and the combination of the other three counties.

The Order also substitutes in the Schedule to the Agricultural Wages Committees (Areas) Order 1974 an up-to-date list of all the counties and combinations of counties for which committees are established.