1987 No. 486

LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND AND WALES

The District of Montgomeryshire (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1987

Made - - - 9th March 1987

Coming into force in accordance with Article 2

Whereas in pursuance of section 58(1) of the Local Government Act 1972(a), the Local Government Boundary Commission for Wales on 18th December 1986 submitted to me proposals for the future electoral arrangements for the District of Montgomeryshire:

And whereas in giving effect to those proposals I have decided to make certain modifications:

Now, therefore, in exercise of the power conferred upon me by sections 58(2) and 67 of that Act, I hereby make the following Order:-

- 1. This Order may be cited as the District of Montgomeryshire (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1987.
- 2. This Order shall come into force on 7th May 1987, except that for the purpose of all proceedings preliminary or relating to an election to be held on or after that day it shall come into force forthwith.
- 3.—(1) The existing wards of the District of Montgomeryshire shall be abolished and that district shall be divided into forty wards which shall bear the names set out in column 1 of the Schedule to this Order, and each such ward shall comprise the areas specified in column 2 of that Schedule opposite to the name of the ward as given in column 1, which areas are:—
 - (a) in the case of a ward of a community, the areas demarcated by green lines on the boundary map referred to in the Montgomeryshire (Communities) Order 1986(b) and designated on that map by reference to the names of the wards of the communities as set out in column 2 of Schedule 2 to that Order, and
 - (b) in the case of a community, the areas demarcated by red lines on the boundary map referred to in the Montgomeryshire (Communities) Order 1986 and designated on that map by reference to the names of the communities as set out in paragraphs (1), (2) and (4) of Article 5 of that Order.
- (2) The number of councillors to be elected for each such ward shall be the number specified in column 3 of the Schedule to this Order opposite to the name of the ward as given in column 1 of that Schedule.
- 4. The ordinary elections of all councillors for the District of Montgomeryshire shall be held simultaneously on the ordinary day of election of non-metropolitan district councillors in 1987 and every fourth year thereafter.

5. The registration officer shall make such re-arrangement or alteration of the register of local government electors as may be necessary on account of the coming into force of this Order.

Home Office 9th March 1987 Douglas Hurd
One of Her Majesty's Principal Secretaries of State

Article 3(1) SCHEDULE

NAMES AND AREAS OF AND NUMBERS OF COUNCILLORS FOR NEW WARDS

1	2	3
Name of New Ward	Area of New Ward	Number of Councillors
Banwy	The Communities of Banwy and Llanerfyl	1
Berriew	The Community of Berriew	1
Cadfarch	The Community of Cadfarch	1
Caersws	The Community of Caersws	1
Carno	The Community of Carno	1
Churchstoke	The Community of Churchstoke	1
Dolforwyn	The Communities of Bettws and Llandyssil	1
Forden	The Community of Forden	1
Glantwymyn	The Community of Glantwymyn	1
Guilsfield Within	The Guilsfield Within ward of the Community of Guilsfield	1
Guilsfield Without	The Community of Castle Caereinion and the Guilsfield Without ward of the Community of Guilsfield	1
Kerry	The Community of Kerry	1
Llanbrynmair	The Community of Llanbrynmair	1
Llandinam	The Community of Llandinam	1
Llandrinio	The Communities of Bausley with Criggion and Llandrinio	1
Llandysilio	The Communities of Carreghofa and Llandysilio	1
Llanfair Caereinion	The Community of Llanfair Caereinion	1
Llanfihangel	The Communities of Llanfihangel and Llangyniew	1
Llanfyllin	The Community of Llanfyllin	1
Llangurig	The Community of Llangurig	1
Llanidloes East	The Dulas and Hafren wards of the Community of Llanidloes	2
Llanidloes West	The Clywedog ward of the Community of Llanidloes	1
Llansantffraid	The Communities of Llanfechain and Llansantffraid	1

SCHEDULE (continued)

l Name of New Ward	2 Area of New Ward	3 Number of Councillors
Llanwddyn	The Communities of Llangynog, Llanrhaeadr-ym-Mochnant, Llanwddyn and Pen-y-Bont-Fawr	1
Machynlleth No. 1	The North West and West wards of the Community of Machynlleth	1
Machynlleth No. 2	The North East and South wards of the Community of Machynlleth	1
Meifod	The Community of Meifod	1
Mochdre	The Communities of Aberhafesp and Mochdre	1
Montgomery	The Community of Montgomery	1
Newton Central	The Newtown Central ward of the Community of Newtown and Llanllwchaiarn	2
Newtown East	The Newtown East ward of the Community of Newtown and Llanllwchaiarn	2
Newtown Llanllwchaiarn North	The Llanllwchaiarn North ward of the Community of Newtown and Llanllwchaiarn	1
Newtown Llanllwchaiarn West	The Llanllwchaiarn West ward of the Community of Newtown and Llanllwchaiarn	1
Newtown South	The Newtown South ward of the Community of Newtown and Llanllwchaiarn	2
Rhiewcynon	The Communities of Dwyriw, Manafon and Tregynon	1
Trefeglwys	The Communities of Llanidloes Without and Trefeglwys	1
Trewern	The Community of Trewern	1
Welshpool Castle	The Castle ward of the Community of Welshpool	1
Welshpool Gungrog	The Gungrog ward of the Community of Welshpool	2
Welshpool Llanerchyddol	The Llanerchyddol ward of the Community of Welshpool	2