STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

1985 No. 696

LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND AND WALES

The Borough of Ynys Môn—Isle of Anglesey (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1985

Made - - - - 30th April 1985 Coming into operation in accordance with Article 2

Whereas in pursuance of section 58(1) of the Local Government Act 1972(a), the Local Government Boundary Commission for Wales on 7th April 1983 submitted to me proposals for the future electoral arrangements for the Borough of Ynys Môn—Isle of Anglesey:

Now, therefore, in exercise of the power conferred upon me by sections 58(2) and 67 of that Act, I hereby make the following Order:—

1. This Order may be cited as the Borough of Ynys Môn—Isle of Anglesey (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1985.

2. This Order shall come into operation on the ordinary day of election of councillors in 1987 (within the meaning of section 37 of the Representation of the People Act 1983(b)) except that for the purpose of all proceedings preliminary or relating to an election to be held on or after that day it shall come into operation on 10th October 1986.

3.— (1) The existing wards of the Borough of Ynys Môn—Isle of Anglesey shall be abolished and that borough shall be divided into thirty-seven wards which shall bear the names set out in column 1 of the Schedule to this Order, and each such ward shall comprise the existing areas specified in column 2 of that Schedule opposite to the name of the ward as given in column 1, except that the areas of the Brynteg, Cadnant, Cefni, Cyngar, Holyhead Town, Kingsland, Llanbedrgoch, London Road, Maeshyfryd, Morawelon, Parc a'r Mynydd, Porthyfelin, Tudur and Tysilio ward are the areas demarcated by green lines on the boundary map referred to in the Ynys Môn—Isle of Anglesey (Communities) Order 1983(c) and designated on that map by reference to the names of the wards of the Communities of Holyhead, Llanfair-Mathafarn-Eithaf, Llangefni and Menai Bridge as set out in column (2) of Schedule 1 to that Order.

⁽a) 1972 c.70. (b) 1983 c.2.

⁽c) S.I. 1983/1788.

(2) The number of councillors to be elected for each such ward shall be the number specified in column 3 of the Schedule to this Order opposite to the name of the ward as given in column 1 of that Schedule.

4. The ordinary elections of all councillors for the Borough of Ynys Môn—Isle of Anglesey shall be held simultaneously on the ordinary day of election of non-metropolitan district councillors in 1987 and every fourth year thereafter.

Leon Brittan, One of Her Majesty's Principal Secretaries of State.

Home Office. 30th April 1985.

SCHEDULE

NAMES AND AREAS OF AND NUMBERS OF COUNCILLORS FOR NEW WARDS

1 Name of New Ward	2 Area of New Ward	3 Number of Councillors
Aberffraw	The Communities of Aberffraw and Llanfaelog	1
Amlwch	The Community of Amlwch	2
Beaumaris	The Community of Beaumaris	1
Bodffordd	The Community of Bodffordd and the Cerrigceinwen ward of the Community of Llangristiolus	1
Bodorgan	The Community of Bodorgan and the Llangristiclus ward of the Community of Llangristiclus	1
Bryngwran	The Communities of Bryngwran and Trewalchmai	1
Brynteg	The Benllech 'B' and Brynteg wards of the Community of Llanfair-Mathafarn-Eithaf	1
Cadnant	The Cadnant ward of the Community of Menai Bridge	1
Cefni	The Cefni ward of the Community of Llangefni	1
Cwm Cadnant	The Community of Cwm Cadnant	1
Cyngar	The Cyngar ward of the Community of Llangefni	1
Holyhead Town	The Town ward of the Community of Holyhead	I
Kingsland	The Kingsland ward of the Community of Holyhead	1
Llanbadrig	The Community of Llanbadrig	1
Llanbedrgoch	The Benllech 'A' and Llanbedrgoch wards of the Community of Llanfair-Mathafarn-Eithaf	1
Llanddyfnan	The Communities of Llanddyfnan and Llaneugrad	1
Llaneilian	The Communities of Llaneilian and Rhosybol	1
Llanfaethlu	The Communities of Llanfachraeth and Llanfaethlu and the Llanrhuddlad ward of the Community of Cylch-y-Garn	1
Llanfair Pwllgwyngyll	The Community of Llanfair Pwllgwyngyll	2
Llanfair-yn-Neubwll	The Communities of Bodedern and Llanfair-yn-Neubwll	1
Llanfihangel Ysgeifiog	The Communities of Llanfihangel Ysgeifiog and Penmynydd	1

SCHEDULE (continued)

1 Name of New Ward	2 Area of New Ward	3 Number of Councillors	
Llangoed	The Community of Llangoed	1	
Llanidan	The Communities of Llanddaniel Fab and Llanidan	1	
Llannerch-y-medd	The Communities of Llannerch-y-medd and Tref Alaw	1	
London Road	The London Road ward of the Community of Holyhead	1	
Maeshyfryd	The Maeshyfryd ward of the Community of Holyhead	1	
Mechell	The Community of Mechell and the Llanfairynghornwy ward of the Community of Cylch-y-Garn	1	
Moelfre	The Community of Moelfre	1	
Morawelon	The Morawelon ward of the Community of Holyhead	1	
Parc a'r Mynydd	The Parc a'r Mynydd ward of the Community of Holyhead	I	
Pentraeth	The Communities of Llanddona and Pentraeth	1	
Porthyfelin	The Porthyfelin ward of the Community of Holyhead	I	
Rhosyr	The Community of Rhosyr	L	
Trearddur	The Communities of Rhoscolyn and Trearddur	l	
Tudur	The Tudur ward of the Community of Llangefni	1	
Tysilio	The Tysilio ward of the Community of Menai Bridge	1	
Valley	The Community of Valley	1	

Printed in the UK for HMSO by Burgess & Son (Abingdon) Ltd. 790/850953P 110 C9 5/85 80p net ISBN 0 11 056696 3