1980 No. 1297

LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND AND WALES

The County of Shropshire (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1980

Made - - - 27th August 1980

Coming into operation in accordance with Article 2

Whereas in pursuance of section 51(1) of the Local Government Act 1972(a), the Local Government Boundary Commission for England on 16th May 1980 submitted proposals for the future electoral arrangements for the County of Shropshire:

Now, therefore, in exercise of the power conferred upon me by sections 51(2) and 67 of the said Act, I hereby make the following Order:—

- 1. This Order may be cited as the County of Shropshire (Electoral Arrangements) Order 1980.
- 2. This Order shall come into operation on 7th May 1981 provided that for the purpose of all proceedings preliminary or relating to an election to be held on or after that day the said Order shall come into operation on 10th October 1980.
- 3.—(1) The existing electoral divisions of the County of Shropshire shall be abolished and the said county shall be divided into sixty-six electoral divisions which shall bear the names set out in column 1 of the Schedule to this Order, and each such electoral division shall comprise the existing areas specified opposite thereto in column 2 of the said Schedule.
- (2) The number of councillors to be elected for each electoral division constituted by this Order shall be one.
- 4. The ordinary elections of all councillors for the County of Shropshire shall be held simultaneously on the ordinary day of election of county councillors in 1981 and every fourth year thereafter.

W. S. I. Whitelaw,
One of Her Majesty's Principal
Secretaries of State.

Home Office. 27th August 1980.

SCHEDULE

NAMES AND AREAS OF NEW ELECTORAL DIVISIONS

1 Name of New Electoral Division	2 Area of New Electoral Division
Albrighton	In the District of Bridgnorth The parishes of Albrighton, Boningale, Boscobel, Donington and Tong
Bridgnorth Rural	The parishes of Billingsley, Chelmarsh, Chetton, Deuxhill, Eardington, Glazeley and Middleton Scriven and the Castle and the Morfe wards of the parish of Bridgnorth
Bridgnorth Town	The East and the West wards of the parish of Bridgnorth
Broseley	The parishes of Broseley, Stockton and Sutton Maddock
Morfe	The parishes of Alveley, Badger, Beckbury, Claverley, Quatt Malvern, Romsley, Rudge, Ryton and Worfield
Much Wenlock	The parishes of Acton Round, Astley Abbotts, Aston Eyre, Barrow, Ditton Priors, Easthope, Monkhopton, Morville, Much Wenlock, Ship- ton, Stanton Long, Tasley and Upton Cressett
Shifnal	The parishes of Kemberton, Sheriffhales and Shifnal
Stottesdon	The parishes of Aston Botterell, Burwarton, Cleobury North, Farlow, Highley, Kinlet, Neen Savage, Neenton, Sidbury and Stottesdon
Ellesmere	In the District of North Shropshire The parishes of Cockshutt, Ellesmere Rural, Ellesmere Urban, Hordley, Petton and Welshampton
Hodnet	The parishes of Cheswardine, Child's Ercall, Hinstock, Hodnet, Stanton upon Hine Heath, Stoke upon Tern and Sutton upon Tern
Market Drayton	The North and the South wards of the parish of Market Drayton
Myddle	The parishes of Baschurch, Broughton, Clive, Grinshill, Hadnall, Moreton Corbet, Myddle and Shawbury
Precs	The parishes of Prees, Whitchurch Rural and Whixall and the Edstaston ward of the parish of Wem Rural
Wem	The parishes of Lee Brockhurst, Loppington, Wem Urban and Weston-under-Redcastle and the Newtown and the Wem wards of the parish of Wem Rural

1		2
Name of New Electoral D	ivision	Area of New Electoral Division
Whitchurch	••	The parish of Whitchurch Urban
Woore	••	The parishes of Adderley, Ightfield, Moreton Say, Norton in Hales and Woore and the East ward of the parish of Market Drayton
Oswestry East	••	In the Borough of Oswestry The Cambrian and the Victoria wards of the parish of Oswestry
Oswestry West	••	The Gatacre and the Maserfield wards of the parish of Oswestry
Ruyton-XI-Towns	••	The parishes of Kinnerley, Knockin, Llanymynech and Pant, Melverley, Ruyton-XI-Towns and West Felton
St. Oswald	••	The parishes of Llanyblodwel and Oswestry Rural
Weston Rhyn	••	The parishes of St. Martins and Weston Rhyn and the Selattyn ward of the parish of Selattyn and Gobowen
Whittington	••	The parish of Whittington and the Gobowen ward of the parish of Selattyn and Gobowen
Bagley	••	In the Borough of Shrewsbury and Atcham The Bagley ward
Bayston Hill		The Bayston Hill ward
Belle-Vue		The Belle-Vue ward
Burnell	••	The Condover, Lawley and Severn Valley wards
Castlefields and Ditheringt	on	The Castlefields and Ditherington ward
Copthorne	••	The Copthorne ward
Harlescott	••	The Harlescott ward
Loton		The Montford, Onslow and Rowton wards
Meole-Brace	••	The Meole-Brace ward
Monkmoor	• •	The Monkmoor ward
Quarry	••	The Quarry ward
Rea Valley	• •	The Rea Valley ward
Sundorne	••	The Sundorne ward

	1			2
Name of New E	lectora	l Divis	ion	Area of New Electoral Division
Sutton	••			The Sutton ward
Tern		• •		The Attingham, Haughmond and Pimhill wards
Underdale	••	••	••	The Underdale ward
Bishops Castle				In the District of South Shropshire The parishes of Bishop's Castle, Brompton and Rhiston, Chirbury, Colebatch, Lydham, Main- stone, More, Myndtown, Norbury, Ratling- hope, Shelve, Wentnor and Worthen
Church Stretton	••	••	••	The parishes of Acton Scott, Church Stretton, Eaton-under-Heywood, Hope Bowdler, Rush- bury and Wistanstow
Clee Hill	••	••	••	The parishes of Ashford Bowdler, Ashford Carbonel, Boraston, Burford, Caynham, Cleobury Mortimer, Coreley, Greete, Hope Bagot, Hopton Wafers, Ludford, Milson, Nash, Neen Sollars, Richard's Castle (Salop) and Whitton
Clun	••	••	••	The parishes of Bedstone, Bettws-y-Crwyn, Bucknell, Clun, Clunbury, Clungunford, Edgton, Hopesay, Hopton Castle, Llanfair Waterdine, Lydbury North and Stowe
Corvedale	••	••	••	The parishes of Abdon, Bitterley, Bromfield Clee St. Margaret, Culmington, Diddlebury, East Hamlet, Halford, Heath, Hopton Cangeford, Munslow, Onibury, Sibdon Carwood, Stanton Lacy, Stokesay, Stoke St. Milborough, Tugford and Wheathill
Ludlow	••	••	••	The parish of Ludlow
Brookside	••	••	••	In the District of The Wrekin The Brookside ward
College	••	••	••	The Arleston and College wards
Cuckoo Oak	••	••		The Cuckoo Oak ward
Dawley Magna	••	••	••	The Dawley Magna ward
Donnington	••	••	••	The Donnington ward
Dothill	••	••		The Dothill and Park wards
Edgmond	••	••		The Edgmond and Ercall Magna wards
Hadley	••	••	••	The Hadley and Leegomery wards

SCHEDULE—(Continued)

1			2
Name of New Elector	al Divis	sion	Area of New Electoral Division
Haygate			The Ercall and Haygate wards
Hollinswood			The Hollinswood/Randlay ward
Ketley			The Ketley and Ketley Bank wards
Lawley	• •		The Lawley and Malinslee wards
Lilleshall	• •		The Donnington Wood and Lilleshall wards
Madeley			The Madeley ward
Newport North	••		The Newport North and Newport West wards
Newport South	• •		The Church Aston and Newport East wards
Priorslee	• •		The Priorslee ward
Stirchley			The Langley and Stirchley wards
Wombridge		••	The Wombridge ward
Woodside			The Woodside ward
Wrekin Rural	• •	••	The Ironbridge (The Gorge) and Wrockwardine wards
Wrockwardine Wood	••	••	The Wrockwardine Wood ward