### STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

### 1968 No. 1996 (S. 182)

## SHERIFF COURT, SCOTLAND

# The Sheriff Courts (Race Relations Jurisdiction) (Scotland) Order 1968

Made - - - 16th December 1968 Coming into Operation 31st December 1968

In exercise of the powers conferred on me by section 20(2) and (4) of the Race Relations Act 1968(a) and of all other powers enabling me in that behalf, I hereby make the following Order:—

- 1.—(1) This order may be cited as the Sheriff Courts (Race Relations Jurisdiction) (Scotland) Order 1968 and shall come into operation on 31st December 1968.
- (2) The Interpretation Act 1889(b) shall apply for the interpretation of this order as it applies for the interpretation of an Act of Parliament.
- 2. The courts mentioned in Column 1 of the schedule to this Order are hereby appointed to have jurisdiction to entertain proceedings under section 20 of the Race Relations Act 1968, and there is hereby assigned to these courts as their districts for the purposes of such proceedings the sheriffdoms mentioned opposite thereto in Column 2 of the said schedule.

William Ross,

One of Her Majesty's Principal Secretaries of State.

St. Andrew's House, Edinburgh, 1. 16th December 1968.

### Article 2

#### SCHEDULE

| Column 2  |
|---|
| The Sheriffdoms of The Lothians and Peebles; and Roxburgh, Berwick and Selkirk.   |
| The Sheriffdoms of Lanark, Stirling, Dun-<br>barton and Clackmannan; Renfrew and<br>Argyll; Ayr and Bute; and Dumfries and<br>Galloway. |
| The Sheriffdoms of Perth and Angus; Fife and Kinross; and Aberdeen, Kincardine and Banff.   |
| The Sheriffdoms of Inverness, Moray, Nairn and Ross and Cromarty; and Caithness, Sutherland, Orkney and Zetland.                        |
|   |

### **EXPLANATORY NOTE**

(This Note is not part of the Order.)

This Order appoints four Sheriff Courts in Scotland as courts to exercise jurisdiction in proceedings brought under the Race Relations Act 1968, and defines the districts of these courts as enlarged for the purpose of this jurisdiction. The courts are the Sheriff Courts at Edinburgh, Glasgow, Dundee and Inverness.