Status: This is the original version (as it was originally enacted).

S C H E D U L E S.

NINTH SCHEDULE

CONSTITUTION ETC. OF COMMISSION, SUB-COMMISSION, COMMITTEES AND TRIBUNALS.

Agricultural Land Tribunals.

- 13 (1) An Agricultural Land Tribunal shall consist of a chairman and two other members.
 - (2) The Minister may, if it appears to him expedient so to do, direct that for any reference to the Tribunal specified in the direction two assessors shall be added to the Tribunal to assist the members thereof in the hearing of the matter of the reference.
- 14 (1) The chairman shall be appointed by the Lord Chancellor and shall be a barrister or solicitor of not less than seven years' standing.
 - (2) The chairman shall hold office for three years, and a chairman whose term of office expires shall be eligible to be re-appointed as chairman.
 - (3) The chairman may resign his office by notice in writing served on the Lord Chancellor.
 - (4) If the Lord Chancellor is satisfied that the chairman is incapacitated by infirmity of mind or body from discharging the duties of his office, or if the chairman is adjudged bankrupt or makes a composition or arrangement with his creditors, the Lord Chancellor may revoke the appointment of the chairman.
 - (5) If the Lord Chancellor is satisfied that the chairman is prevented by sickness or any other reason from acting on any reference to the Agricultural Land Tribunal, the Lord Chancellor may appoint a person having the qualifications mentioned in sub-paragraph (1) of this paragraph to be chairman of the Tribunal for that reference.
- 15 The two members of an Agricultural Land Tribunal other than the chairman (hereinafter referred to as " nominated members ") shall, for each reference to the Tribunal, be appointed by the Minister and shall be so appointed respectively from a panel of persons nominated in the case of one such member by persons appearing to the Minister to represent the interests of farmers, and in the case of the other by persons appearing to the Minister to represent the interests of owners of agricultural land.
- 16 The assessors shall be selected by the Minister, for any reference for which the Minister directs the addition of assessors to the Tribunal, from a panel of persons nominated by the President of the Royal Institution of Chartered Surveyors.
- 17 (1) The Minister may by order direct that the foregoing provisions of this Schedule as to the nominated members of Agricultural Land Tribunals shall have effect subject to such modification of the number of such members, and such additions to the classes of persons referred to in paragraph 15 of this Schedule, as may be specified in the order.

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally enacted).

- (2) Any order under this paragraph shall be of no effect unless approved by resolution of each House of Parliament.
- 18
- Where provision is made for the sitting of an Agricultural Land Tribunal in two or more divisions, this Schedule shall apply as if each division were an Agricultural Land Tribunal.