

Local Government (Scotland) Act 1947

1947 CHAPTER 43

PART I

CONSTITUTION AND ELECTIONS.

LOCAL GOVERNMENT AREAS.

1 Division into administrative areas.

- (1) For the purposes of local government, Scotland shall be divided into counties, counties of cities, large burghs and small burghs, and the landward area of every county shall, save as provided in this Part of this Act, be divided into districts comprising one or more electoral divisions in accordance with a district council scheme made by the county council of the county and approved by the Secretary of State under the Local Government (Scotland) Act, 1929, or this Act.
- (2) Subject to the constitution of new authorities or any alteration of boundaries or other alteration which may take effect after the passing of this Act—
 - (a) the counties shall be the counties named in Part I of the First Schedule to this Act;
 - (b) the counties of cities shall be the counties of cities named in Part II of the First Schedule to this Act;
 - (c) the large burghs shall he the burghs named in Part III of the First Schedule to this Act;
 - (d) the small burghs shall be the burghs named in Part IV of the First Schedule to this Act; and
 - (e) the districts shall be the districts existing at the passing of this Act.
- (3) It is hereby declared that Orkney and Zetland are separate counties for all purposes other than the election of a member of Parliament.
- (4) References in this Act to a large burgh shall be deemed to include references to a county of a city except where otherwise provided and except that references to burghs within a county shall not include references to a county of a city.