

European Union (Withdrawal Agreement) Act 2020

2020 CHAPTER 1

PART 4

OTHER SUBJECT AREAS

Other matters

34 Ministerial co-chairs of the Joint Committee

After section 15A of the European Union (Withdrawal) Act 2018 (prohibition on extending implementation period) (for which see section 33 above) insert—

"15B Ministerial co-chairs of the Joint Committee

The functions of the United Kingdom's co-chair of the Joint Committee, under Annex VIII of the withdrawal agreement (rules of procedure of the Joint Committee and specialised committees), are to be exercised personally by a Minister of the Crown (and, accordingly, only a Minister of the Crown may be designated as a replacement under Rule 1(3))."