Status: This is the original version (as it was originally enacted).

SCHEDULES

SCHEDULE 8

CONSEQUENTIAL, TRANSITIONAL, TRANSITORY AND SAVING PROVISION

PART 2

SPECIFIC CONSEQUENTIAL PROVISION

Interpretation Act 1978

- In Schedule 1 (words and expressions defined)—
 - (a) omit "The EU" or "the EU Treaties" and other expressions defined by section 1 of and Schedule 1 to the European Communities Act 1972 have the meanings prescribed by that Act.",
 - (b) omit the definition of "EEA agreement",
 - (c) omit the definition of "EEA state",
 - (d) in the definition of "enactment", before "does" insert "includes any retained direct EU legislation but", and
 - (e) at the end insert—
 - "Definitions relating to the EU and the United Kingdom's withdrawal
 - "The Communities" means Euratom, the Economic Community and the Coal and Steel Community, but a reference to any or all of those Communities is to be treated as being or including (as the context requires) a reference to the EU.
 - "E.C.S.C. Treaty" means the Treaty establishing the European Coal and Steel Community, signed at Paris on 18 April 1951.
 - "EEA agreement" means the agreement on the European Economic Area signed at Oporto on 2 May 1992, together with the Protocol adjusting that Agreement signed at Brussels on 17 March 1993, as modified or supplemented from time to time, but does not include any retained direct EU legislation. [8 January 2007]
 - "EEA state", in relation to a time, means—
 - (a) a state which at that time is a member State, or
 - (b) any other state which at that time is a party to the EEA agreement. [8 January 2007]
 - "E.E.C. Treaty" means the Treaty establishing the European Economic Community, signed at Rome on 25 March 1957.
 - "Entry date" means the date on which the United Kingdom became a member of the Communities (which neither includes nor is a reference to the EU).
 - "The EU" or "the European Union" means the European Union, being the Union established by the Treaty on European Union signed at

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally enacted).

Maastricht on 7 February 1992 (as amended by any later Treaty); and includes, so far as the context permits or requires, Euratom.

"EU institution" means any institution of the EU.

"EU instrument" means any instrument issued by an EU institution other than any retained direct EU legislation.

"Euratom", "Economic Community" and "Coal and Steel Community" mean respectively the European Atomic Energy Community, the European Economic Community and the European Coal and Steel Community (but see the definition of "the Communities" for provision as to the construction of references to those Communities).

"Euratom Treaty" means the Treaty establishing the European Atomic Energy Community, signed at Rome on 25 March 1957.

"European Court" means the Court of Justice of the European Union.

"Exit day" (and related expressions) have the same meaning as in the European Union (Withdrawal) Act 2018 (see section 20(1) to (5) of that Act).

"Member", in the expression "member State", refers to membership of the EU.

"Retained EU law", "retained direct minor EU legislation", "retained direct principal EU legislation" and "retained direct EU legislation" have the same meaning as in the European Union (Withdrawal) Act 2018 (see sections 6(7), 7(6) and 20(1) of that Act).

"Retained EU obligation" means an obligation that—

- (a) was created or arose by or under the EU Treaties before exit day, and
- (b) forms part of retained EU law,

as modified from time to time.

"The Treaties" or "the EU Treaties" means the Treaties or EU Treaties, within the meaning given by section 1(2) of the European Communities Act 1972 as that Act had effect immediately before its repeal by section 1 of the European Union (Withdrawal) Act 2018, as at immediately before exit day."