

# Constitutional Reform and Governance Act 2010

# **2010 CHAPTER 25**

### PART 3

## PARLIAMENTARY STANDARDS ETC

Amendments of the Parliamentary Standards Act 2009

# 27 Membership of Speaker's Committee

- (1) Schedule 3 to the Parliamentary Standards Act 2009 (Speaker's Committee for the Independent Parliamentary Standards Authority) is amended as follows.
- (2) In paragraph 1—
  - (a) omit "and" at the end of sub-paragraph (c), and
  - (b) after sub-paragraph (d) insert ", and
    - (e) three lay persons appointed by resolution of the House of Commons."
- (3) For the heading of paragraph 2 substitute "Appointed members".
- (4) After paragraph 2 insert—

# "Lay members

- 2A (1) In paragraph 1(e) "lay person" means a person who is not, and has never been, a member of either House of Parliament.
  - (2) A motion for a resolution under paragraph 1(e) may be made only with the agreement of the Speaker of the House of Commons.
  - (3) The person the subject of the motion must have been selected by the Speaker on merit on the basis of fair and open competition.

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally enacted).

- (4) An appointment under paragraph 1(e) is to be for a fixed term not exceeding five years.
- (5) A person who has been appointed under paragraph 1(e) may not be appointed under paragraph 1(e) again.
- (6) A person appointed under paragraph 1(e) ceases to be a member of the Committee if the person becomes a member of either House of Parliament.
- (7) A person appointed under paragraph 1(e) may resign from the Committee by giving notice to the Committee.
- (8) The Speaker of the House of Commons may require the IPSA to pay to members of the Committee appointed under paragraph 1(e) such remuneration and allowances as the Speaker may determine.
- (9) The IPSA must make the payment accordingly."