Status: This is the original version (as it was originally enacted).

SCHEDULES

SCHEDULE 3

Section 3

SPEAKER'S COMMITTEE FOR THE INDEPENDENT PARLIAMENTARY STANDARDS AUTHORITY

Membership

- The members of the Speaker's Committee for the Independent Parliamentary Standards Authority ("the Committee") are—
 - (a) the Speaker of the House of Commons,
 - (b) the Leader of the House of Commons,
 - (c) the person who chairs the House of Commons Committee on Standards and Privileges, and
 - (d) five members of the House of Commons who are not Ministers of the Crown, appointed by the House of Commons.

Term of office

- 2 (1) A person appointed under paragraph 1(d) ("an appointed member") ceases to be a member of the Committee if—
 - (a) another person is appointed in the person's place, or
 - (b) the person ceases to be a member of the House of Commons.
 - (2) An appointed member may resign from the Committee by giving notice to the Committee.
 - (3) Except as provided by this paragraph, an appointed member is a member of the Committee for the remainder of the Parliament in which the person is appointed.
 - (4) An appointed member may be re-appointed (more than once) to membership of the Committee.

Committee proceedings

- 3 (1) The Committee may determine its own procedure (including quorum).
 - (2) The validity of any proceedings of the Committee is not affected by—
 - (a) a vacancy among the members, or
 - (b) a defect in the appointment of a member.