GOVERNMENT OF WALES ACT 2006

EXPLANATORY NOTES

COMMENTARY ON SECTIONS AND SCHEDULES

Ministers etc

- 213. Sections 45-51 set out in detail the membership and appointment procedures of the Welsh Assembly Government. The members are the First Minister, who is appointed by Her Majesty on the nomination of the Assembly; the (other) Welsh Ministers and Deputy Ministers, who are appointed by the First Minister with Her Majesty's approval; and the Counsel General, who is appointed by Her Majesty on the recommendation of the First Minister, with the agreement of the Assembly. Ministers and Deputy Ministers (of whom together there may not be more than twelve) may be removed from office by the First Minister (or may resign) at any time. The First Minister may with the agreement of the Assembly recommend to Her Majesty at any time the removal of the Counsel General; the Counsel General may tender resignation to Her Majesty at any time. Sections 53-55 provide procedures for determining all these office-holders' remuneration, and for their taking an oath (or making an affirmation) on assuming office.
- 214. The Act makes detailed provision to cover circumstances:
 - a) following a vote of no confidence in the Welsh Ministers (the First Minister remains in office until a successor is appointed, which must happen within the specified period of 28 days, but the other Welsh Ministers and Deputy Ministers are required to resign forthwith; the Counsel General remains in office until a new First Minister is nominated); or
 - b) where the First Minister's office becomes vacant, the First Minister becomes unable to act or has ceased to be an Assembly Member (the Presiding Officer, acting on the recommendation of the other Welsh Ministers, designates another Assembly Member to exercise the functions of the office).
- 215. The Assembly Government will be supported by staff who (unlike the staff supporting the National Assembly itself) are civil servants (section 52).