

## Constitutional Reform Act 2005

## **2005 CHAPTER 4**

## PART 3

THE SUPREME COURT

The Supreme Court

## **23** The Supreme Court

- (1) There is to be a Supreme Court of the United Kingdom.
- (2) The Court consists of 12 judges appointed by Her Majesty by letters patent.
- (3) Her Majesty may from time to time by Order in Council amend subsection (2) so as to increase or further increase the number of judges of the Court.
- (4) No recommendation may be made to Her Majesty in Council to make an Order under subsection (3) unless a draft of the Order has been laid before and approved by resolution of each House of Parliament.
- (5) Her Majesty may by letters patent appoint one of the judges to be President and one to be Deputy President of the Court.
- (6) The judges other than the President and Deputy President are to be styled "Justices of the Supreme Court".
- (7) The Court is to be taken to be duly constituted despite any vacancy among the judges of the Court or in the office of President or Deputy President.