

British Overseas Territories Act 2002

2002 CHAPTER 8

Change of names

1 British overseas territories

- (1) As the territories mentioned in Schedule 6 to the British Nationality Act 1981 (c. 61) are now known as "British overseas territories"—
 - (a) in section 50(1) of that Act (definitions), at the appropriate place insert—

""British overseas territory" means a territory mentioned in Schedule 6;",

- (b) for "dependent territory" (or "dependent territories"), wherever occurring in that Act, substitute "British overseas territory" (or "British overseas territories"), and
- (c) in the heading to that Schedule, for "British Dependent Territories" substitute "British Overseas Territories".
- (2) In any other enactment passed or made before the commencement of this section (including an enactment comprised in subordinate legislation), any reference to a dependent territory within the meaning of the British Nationality Act 1981 shall be read as a reference to a British overseas territory.
- (3) In the Interpretation Act 1978 (c. 30), at the appropriate place in Schedule 1 (list of definitions) insert—

""British overseas territory" has the same meaning as in the British Nationality Act 1981;".