Status: This is the original version (as it was originally enacted).

SCHEDULES

SCHEDULE 1

CONSTITUENCIES, REGIONS AND REGIONAL MEMBERS

General

- 1 The constituencies for the purposes of this Act are—
 - (a) the Orkney Islands,
 - (b) the Shetland Islands, and
 - (c) the parliamentary constituencies in Scotland, except a parliamentary constituency including either of those islands.
- 2 (1) There shall be eight regions for the purposes of this Act.
 - (2) Those regions shall be the eight European Parliamentary constituencies which were provided for by the European Parliamentary Constituencies (Scotland) Order 1996.
 - (3) Seven regional members shall be returned for each region.
 - (4) Sub-paragraphs (2) and (3) are subject to any Order in Council under the Parliamentary Constituencies Act 1986 (referred to in this Schedule as the 1986 Act), as that Act is extended by this Schedule.