

Justices of the Peace Act 1997

1997 CHAPTER 25

PART I

COMMISSIONS OF THE PEACE AND PETTY SESSIONS AREAS

1 Commission areas

- (1) There shall in England be a commission of the peace for each of the following areas—
 - (a) every metropolitan county;
 - (b) every retained county;
 - (c) every London commission area; and
 - (d) the City of London.
- (2) There shall in Wales be a commission of the peace for each of the following areas—
 - (a) every commission area specified in Schedule 1 to this Act; and
 - (b) every retained county no part of which falls within a commission area so specified.
- (3) In this Act "commission area" means an area for which there is a commission of the peace.

2 London commission areas

- (1) In this Act "London commission area" means, subject to the provisions of subsections (3) to (5) below, any of the areas specified in Schedule 2 to this Act.
- (2) The area specified in Part I of that Schedule is the inner London area; and the areas whose names are listed in Part II of that Schedule are in this Act referred to as the "outer London areas".
- (3) Her Majesty may by Order in Council substitute for any one or more of the areas specified in that Schedule any other area or areas comprising the whole or part of Greater London, or alter the boundaries of any area so specified; but the City of

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally enacted).

London shall not by virtue of any such Order be included in a London commission area.

- (4) An Order in Council made under this section may contain such incidental, consequential, transitional or supplementary provisions as may be necessary or expedient for the purposes of the Order (including provisions amending this Act or any other enactment).
- (5) Any statutory instrument made by virtue of this section shall be subject to annulment in pursuance of a resolution of either House of Parliament.

3 General form of commissions of the peace

The commission of the peace for any commission area shall be a commission under the Great Seal addressed generally, and not by name, to all such persons as may from time to time hold office as justices of the peace for the commission area.

4 Petty sessions areas

- (1) The following areas are petty sessions areas—
 - (a) any specified area which is not divided into petty sessional divisions;
 - (b) any petty sessional division of a specified area; and
 - (c) the City of London.
- (2) For the purposes of subsection (1)(a) and (b) above "specified area" means—
 - (a) a retained county;
 - (b) a metropolitan district;
 - (c) the inner London area; or
 - (d) an outer London borough.