

Police and Magistrates' Courts Act 1994

1994 CHAPTER 29

PART IV

MAGISTRATES' COURTS

Magistrates' courts committees

70 Constitution of magistrates' courts committees

For section 20 of the 1979 Act there shall be substituted—

"20 Constitution of magistrates' courts committees

- (1) A magistrates' courts committee shall, subject to subsections (2) to (4) below, be composed of magistrates for the area to which the committee relates, chosen in accordance with regulations under section 21 of this Act.
- (2) Not more than two other members, who need not be justices of the peace, may be either—
 - (a) co-opted by a magistrates' courts committee to the committee with the approval of the Lord Chancellor, or
 - (b) appointed by the Lord Chancellor to the committee.
- (3) The chief metropolitan stipendiary magistrate shall by virtue of his office be a member of the inner London magistrates' courts committee.
- (4) Until such day as the Lord Chancellor may by order made by statutory instrument appoint, two members of the inner London magistrates' courts committee shall be other metropolitan stipendiary magistrates appointed by the chief metropolitan stipendiary magistrate.
- (5) In subsections (3) and (4) above "the inner London magistrates' courts committee" means the magistrates' courts committee for an area consisting of or including the whole of the inner London area or, if there is no such committee,

Status: This is the original version (as it was originally enacted).

every magistrates' courts committee for any area which consists of or includes any part of the inner London area."