Status: This is the original version (as it was originally enacted).

$S\,C\,H\,E\,D\,U\,L\,E\,S$

SCHEDULE 1

Sections 1 and 7.

JUSTICES NOT APPOINTED BY COMMISSION OF THE PEACE

Enactments providing for appointment	Other Office	Area
The Municipal Corporations Act 1882 (c. 50) section 163(3).	Recorder of borough.	The borough.
The Criminal Justice Administration Act 1956 (c. 34) section 4(2).	Recorder of Liverpool, or Manchester, while judge of Crown Courts at Liverpool and Manchester.	Lancashire.
The Administration of Justice (Miscellaneous Provisions) Act 1938 (c. 63) section 1(3).	Legally qualified chairman or deputy chairman of county quarter sessions appointed under the section.	The county in which the court of quarter sessions has jurisdiction.
The Administration of Justice Act 1964 (c. 42)		
section $4(3)(a)$.	Whole-time chairman or deputy chairman of quarter sessions in London.	Any London commission area.
section 5(3).	County court judge in London.	Any London commission area for which he has been appointed for a period to act as deputy chairman of quarter sessions.
section 10(4)(a).	Metropolitan stipendiary magistrate.	Any London commission area, Essex, Hertfordshire, Kent and Surrey.
The Justices of the Peace Act 1949 (c. 101) section 29(2).	Stipendiary magistrate outside London.	Any county, or borough having a separate commission of the peace, which includes the magistrate's area or any part of it.
The Metropolitan Police Act 1829 (c. 44) section 1, the Metropolitan Police Act 1839 (c. 47) section 4, and the	The Commissioner and Assistant Commissioners of Police of the Metropolis.	Any London commission area, Surrey, Hertfordshire, Essex, Kent, Berkshire and Buckinghamshire.

Enactments providing for appointment	Other Office	Area
Metropolitan Police Act 1856 (c. 2) section 2, as amended.		