Hereford Markets Act 2003

2003 CHAPTER iv

An Act to make new provision for markets in the district of Herefordshire.

[30th October 2003]


(1)The County of Herefordshire District Council (“the Council”) was established under the Local Government Act 1992 (c. 19) as a unitary district council for the district of Herefordshire which includes the city of Hereford (“the city”):

(2)In its capacity as the successor to former local authorities for the city, the Council is empowered to hold and regulate markets in the city by virtue of a Royal Charter granted by Elizabeth I in 1597 and powers granted through subsequent local legislation:

(3)In exercise of these powers, various markets are held in the city, including livestock and general markets held at a market site off New Market Street, the livestock market principally taking place on Wednesdays and general markets on Wednesdays and Saturdays, a general market held in the Butter Market, High Town, daily except Sundays, and a farmers' market held in High Town on a monthly basis:

(4)The location, condition and physical constraints of the existing market site off New Market Street, together with the application of modern regulatory requirements, render that site ill-suited for the purposes of the livestock market:

(5)A redevelopment of that site would also facilitate the proper planning and redevelopment of the city centre:

(6)Existing local legislation relating to the Council’s markets is now out-dated and ought to be replaced with modern provisions:

(7)The purposes of this Act cannot be effected without the authority of Parliament:

(8)In relation to the promotion of the Bill for this Act the requirements of section 239 of the Local Government Act 1972 (c. 70) (powers of joint and local authorities to apply for further powers, etc.) have been observed:

May it therefore please your Majesty that it may be enacted, and be it enacted, by the Queen’s Most Excellent Majesty, by and with the advice and consent of the Lords Spiritual and Temporal, and Commons, in this present Parliament assembled, and by the authority of the same, as follows:—