DRAFT STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2024 No.

The Northumberland (Electoral Changes) Order 2024

Citation, commencement, extent and application

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the Northumberland (Electoral Changes) Order 2024.
- (2) This article and article 2 come into force on 15th October 2024.
- (3) Articles 3 and 4 come into force—
 - (a) for the purposes of proceedings preliminary or relating to the election of councillors, on 15th October 2024;
 - (b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of election of councillors in England(1) in 2025.
- (4) This Order extends to England and Wales but applies in relation to England only.

Interpretation

- **2.**—(1) In this Order, "the map" means the map marked "Map referred to in the Northumberland (Electoral Changes) Order 2024", held by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England(2).
- (2) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature, it is to be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

Electoral divisions of Northumberland and number of councillors

- **3.**—(1) The existing electoral divisions of Northumberland are abolished.
- (2) Northumberland is divided into the 69 electoral divisions listed in Schedule 1.
- (3) Each electoral division comprises the area identified on the map by reference to the name of the electoral division.
 - (4) The number of councillors to be elected for each electoral division is one.

Certain parishes in Northumberland

- **4.**—(1) The existing parish wards of the parishes listed in paragraph (2) are abolished.
- (2) The parishes referred to in paragraph (1) are—
 - (a) Alnwick;
 - (b) Amble;

⁽¹⁾ The ordinary day of election of councillors in England is prescribed by section 37(1) of the Representation of the People Act 1983 (c. 2), as amended by section 18(2) of the Representation of the People Act 1985 (c. 50), renumbered by paragraph 5 of Schedule 3 to the Greater London Authority Act 1999 (c. 29), and further amended by section 6(16) of the Wales Act 2017 (c. 4).

⁽²⁾ Prints of the map are available for inspection at reasonable times at the principal office of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England, 1st Floor, Windsor House, 50 Victoria Street, London SW1H 0TL. It is also accessible online at https://www.lgbce.org.uk/all-reviews/northumberland.

- (c) Ashington;
- (d) Blyth;
- (e) Choppington;
- (f) Cramlington;
- (g) East Bedlington;
- (h) Hexham;
- (i) Morpeth;
- (j) Newbiggin-by-the-Sea;
- (k) Ponteland;
- (l) Prudhoe;
- (m) Seaton Valley;
- (n) West Bedlington;
- (o) Widdrington Station & Stobswood.
- (3) The parish of Alnwick is divided into the two parish wards listed in the first column of Table 1 in Schedule 2.
- (4) The parish of Amble is divided into the three parish wards listed in the first column of Table 2 in Schedule 2.
- (5) The parish of Ashington is divided into the six parish wards listed in the first column of Table 3 in Schedule 2.
- (6) The parish of Blyth is divided into the eight parish wards listed in the first column of Table 4 in Schedule 2.
- (7) The parish of Choppington is divided into the three parish wards listed in the first column of Table 5 in Schedule 2.
- (8) The parish of Cramlington is divided into the seven parish wards listed in the first column of Table 6 in Schedule 2.
- (9) The parish of East Bedlington is divided into the two parish wards listed in the first column of Table 7 in Schedule 2.
- (10) The parish of Hexham is divided into the three parish wards listed in the first column of Table 8 in Schedule 2.
- (11) The parish of Morpeth is divided into the five parish wards listed in the first column of Table 9 in Schedule 2.
- (12) The parish of Newbiggin-by-the-Sea is divided into the four parish wards listed in the first column of Table 10 in Schedule 2.
- (13) The parish of Ponteland is divided into the four parish wards listed in the first column of Table 11 in Schedule 2.
- (14) The parish of Prudhoe is divided into the six parish wards listed in the first column of Table 12 in Schedule 2.
- (15) The parish of Seaton Valley is divided into the four parish wards listed in the first column of Table 13 in Schedule 2.
- (16) The parish of West Bedlington is divided into the two parish wards listed in the first column of Table 14 in Schedule 2.
- (17) The parish of Widdrington Station & Stobswood is divided into the three parish wards listed in the first column of Table 15 in Schedule 2.

- (18) Each parish ward comprises the area identified on the map by reference to the name of the parish ward.
- (19) The number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward is the number specified in relation to that parish ward in the second column of the relevant table in Schedule 2.

Sealed with the seal of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England

Name
Chief Executive
Local Government Boundary Commission for
England

Date