DRAFT STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2024 No.

The Shropshire (Electoral Changes) Order 2024

Citation, commencement, extent and application

1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the Shropshire (Electoral Changes) Order 2024.

- (2) This article and article 2 come into force on 15th October 2024.
- (3) Articles 3 and 4 come into force-
 - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to the election of councillors, on 15th October 2024;
 - (b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of election of councillors in England(1) in 2025.
- (4) This Order extends to England and Wales but applies in relation to England only.

Interpretation

2.—(1) In this Order, "the map" means the map marked "Map referred to in the Shropshire (Electoral Changes) Order 2024", held by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England($\mathbf{2}$).

(2) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature, it is to be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

Divisions of Shropshire and number of councillors

3.—(1) The existing divisions of Shropshire are abolished.

(2) Shropshire is divided into the 72 divisions listed in the first column of the table in Schedule 1.

(3) Each division comprises the area identified on the map by reference to the name of the division.

(4) The number of councillors to be elected for each division is the number specified in relation to that division in the second column of the table in Schedule 1.

Parish wards of the parishes of Adderley, Albrighton, Atcham, Bicton, Bridgnorth, Donington with Boscobel, Great Hanwood, Ludford, Ludlow, Market Drayton, Oswestry, Pimhill, Shifnal, Shrewsbury, Uffington and Whitchurch Urban, and number of councillors

4.—(1) The existing parish wards of the parishes of Adderley, Albrighton, Atcham, Bicton, Bridgnorth, Donington with Boscobel, Great Hanwood, Ludford, Ludlow, Market Drayton, Oswestry, Pimhill, Shifnal, Shrewsbury, Uffington and Whitchurch Urban are abolished.

⁽¹⁾ The ordinary day of election of councillors in England is prescribed by section 37(1) of the Representation of the People Act 1983 (c. 2), as amended by section 18(2) of the Representation of the People Act 1985 (c. 50), renumbered by paragraph 5 of Schedule 3 to the Greater London Authority Act 1999 (c. 29), and further amended by section 6(16) of the Wales Act 2017 (c. 4).

⁽²⁾ Prints of the map are available for inspection at reasonable times at the principal office of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England, 1st Floor, Windsor House, 50 Victoria Street, London SW1H 0TL. It is also accessible online at https://www.lgbce.org.uk/all-reviews/shropshire.

(2) The parish of Adderley is divided into the two parish wards listed in the first column of Table 1 in Schedule 2.

(3) The parish of Albrighton is divided into the two parish wards listed in the first column of Table 2 in Schedule 2.

(4) The parish of Atcham is divided into the two parish wards listed in the first column of Table 3 in Schedule 2.

(5) The parish of Bicton is divided into the two parish wards listed in the first column of Table 4 in Schedule 2.

(6) The parish of Bridgnorth is divided into the four parish wards listed in the first column of Table 5 in Schedule 2.

(7) The parish of Donington with Boscobel is divided into the three parish wards listed in the first column of Table 6 in Schedule 2.

(8) The parish of Great Hanwood is divided into the two parish wards listed in the first column of Table 7 in Schedule 2.

(9) The parish of Ludford is divided into the two parish wards listed in the first column of Table 8 in Schedule 2.

(10) The parish of Ludlow is divided into the seven parish wards listed in the first column of Table 9 in Schedule 2.

(11) The parish of Market Drayton is divided into the three parish wards listed in the first column of Table 10 in Schedule 2.

(12) The parish of Oswestry is divided into the seven parish wards listed in the first column of Table 11 in Schedule 2.

(13) The parish of Pimhill is divided into the five parish wards listed in the first column of Table 12 in Schedule 2.

(14) The parish of Shifnal is divided into the three parish wards listed in the first column of Table 13 in Schedule 2.

(15) The parish of Shrewsbury is divided into the 17 parish wards listed in the first column of Table 14 in Schedule 2.

(16) The parish of Uffington is divided into the two parish wards listed in the first column of Table 15 in Schedule 2.

(17) The parish of Whitchurch Urban is divided into the three parish wards listed in the first column of Table 16 in Schedule 2.

(18) Each parish ward comprises the area identified on the map by reference to the name of the parish ward.

(19) The number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward is the number specified in relation to that parish ward in the second column of the relevant table in Schedule 2.

Draft Legislation: This is a draft item of legislation. This draft has since been made as a UK Statutory Instrument: The Shropshire (Electoral Changes) Order 2024 No. 123

Sealed with the seal of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England

Name Chief Executive Local Government Boundary Commission for England

Date