Draft Order laid before Parliament under section 59(9) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009; draft to lie for forty days pursuant to section 6(1) of the Statutory Instruments Act 1946, during which period either House of Parliament may resolve that the Order be not made.

DRAFT STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2022 No.

LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND

The Rushcliffe (Electoral Changes) Order 2022

Made - - - ***

Coming into force in accordance with article 1(2) and (3)

Under section 58(4) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009(a) ("the Act") the Local Government Boundary Commission for England(b) ("the Commission") published a report dated May 2022(c), stating its recommendations for changes to the electoral arrangements for the borough of Rushcliffe. The Commission has decided to give effect to the recommendations.

A draft of the instrument has been laid before Parliament and a period of forty days has expired since the day on which it was laid and neither House has resolved that the instrument be not made.

The Commission makes the following Order in exercise of the power conferred by section 59(1) of the Act.

Citation, commencement, extent and application

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the Rushcliffe (Electoral Changes) Order 2022.
- (2) This article and article 2 come into force on the day after the day on which this Order is made.
 - (3) Articles 3 and 4 come into force—
 - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to the election of councillors on the day after the day on which this Order is made;
 - (b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of election of councillors in England(d) in 2023.
 - (4) This Order extends to England and Wales but applies in relation to England only.

⁽a) 2009 c 20

⁽b) The Local Government Boundary Commission for England was established on 1st April 2010 by section 55(1) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009.

⁽c) The report is available for inspection at reasonable times at the principal office of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England, 1st Floor, Windsor House, 50 Victoria Street, London SW1H 0TL. It is also available at https://www.lgbce.org.uk/all-reviews/east-midlands/nottinghamshire/rushcliffe

⁽d) The ordinary day of election of councillors in England is prescribed by section 37(1) of the Representation of the People Act 1983 (c. 2), as amended by section 18(2) of the Representation of the People Act 1985 (c. 50), renumbered by paragraph 5 of Schedule 3 to the Greater London Authority Act 1999 (c. 29), and further amended by section 6(16) of the Wales Act 2017 (c. 4).

Interpretation

- **2.**—(1) In this Order, "the map" means the map marked "Map referred to in the Rushcliffe (Electoral Changes) Order 2022", held by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England(a).
- (2) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature, it is to be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

Wards of the borough of Rushcliffe and number of councillors

- **3.**—(1) The existing wards of the borough of Rushcliffe are abolished.
- (2) The borough of Rushcliffe is divided into the 24 wards listed in the first column of the table in Schedule 1.
 - (3) Each ward comprises the area identified on the map by reference to the name of the ward.
- (4) The number of councillors to be elected for each ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of the table in Schedule 1.

Parish wards of the parishes of Bingham, Cropwell Butler, and Radcliffe on Trent and number of councillors

- **4.**—(1) The existing parish wards of the parishes of Bingham, Cropwell Butler, and Radcliffe on Trent are abolished.
- (2) The Parish of Bingham is divided into the four parish wards listed in the first column of Table 1 in Schedule 2.
- (3) The Parish of Cropwell Butler is divided into the two parish wards listed in the first column of Table 2 in Schedule 2.
- (4) The Parish of Radcliffe on Trent is divided into the three parish wards listed in the first column of Table 3 in Schedule 2.
- (5) Each parish ward comprises the area identified on the map by reference to the name of the parish ward.
- (6) The number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward is the number specified in relation to that parish ward in the second column of the relevant table in Schedule 2.

Sealed with the seal of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England

Name
Chief Executive
Local Government Boundary Commission for England

Date

⁽a) Prints of the map are available for inspection at reasonable times at the principal office of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England, 1st Floor, Windsor House, 50 Victoria Street, London SW1H 0TL. It is also accessible online at https://www.lgbce.org.uk/all-reviews/east-midlands/nottinghamshire/rushcliffe

SCHEDULE 1

Article 3

Wards of the borough of Rushcliffe and number of councillors

(1)	(2)
Name of ward	Number of councillors
Abbey	3
Bingham North	2
Bingham South	2
Bunny	1
Compton Acres	2
Cotgrave	3
Cranmer	1
Cropwell	1
East Bridgford	1
Edwalton	2
Gamston	2
Gotham	2
Keyworth & Wolds	3
Lady Bay	2
Leake	3
Lutterell	1
Musters	2
Nevile & Langar	1
Newton	1
Radcliffe on Trent	3
Ruddington	3
Soar Valley	1
Tollerton	1
Trent Bridge	1

SCHEDULE 2

Article 4

Names of parish wards and number of councillors

Table 1 Parish wards of the parish of Bingham

(1)	(2)
Name of parish ward	Number of councillors
Bingham Northeast	2
Bingham Northwest	5
Bingham Southeast	5
Bingham Southwest	2

Table 2 Parish wards of the parish of Cropwell Butler

(1)	(2)
Name of parish ward	Number of councillors
Upper Saxondale	2
Village	5

Table 3 Parish wards of the parish of Radcliffe on Trent

(1)	(2)
Name of parish ward	Number of councillors
Manvers	8
Saxondale	1
Trent	9

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order makes changes to electoral arrangements for the borough of Rushcliffe following recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England. The area of the borough remains unchanged.

Article 3 abolishes the existing electoral wards of the borough of Rushcliffe and replaces them with 24 new ones for the purpose of elections held on or after the ordinary day of election of councillors in England in 2023. It establishes the names and areas of the new electoral wards and the number of councillors for each.

Article 4 makes changes to parish wards that are consequential on the changes made by article 3.

The area covered by each ward created by this Order is identified on a map which is available for inspection at reasonable times at the offices of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England, 1st Floor, Windsor House, 50 Victoria Street, London SW1H 0TL.

The map may also be accessed online at https://www.lgbce.org.uk/all-reviews/east-midlands/nottinghamshire/rushcliffe.

A full impact assessment has not been produced for this instrument as no, or no significant, impact on the private, voluntary or public sectors is foreseen.

Printed and published in the UK by The Stationery Office Limited under the authority and superintendence of Jeff James, Controller of His Majesty's Stationery Office and King's Printer of Acts of Parliament.

ISBN 978-0-34-824001-

£4.90

[©] Crown copyright 2022