DRAFT STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2020 No.

The Pendle (Electoral Changes) Order 2020

Citation and commencement

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the Pendle (Electoral Changes) Order 2020.
- (2) This article and article 2 come into force on the day after the day on which this Order is made.
- (3) Articles 3, 4 and 5 come into force—
 - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to the election of councillors, on the day after the day on which this Order is made;
 - (b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of election of councillors in England(1) in 2020.

Interpretation

- **2.**—(1) In this Order, "the map" means the map marked "Map referred to in the Pendle (Electoral Changes) Order 2020", held by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England(2).
- (2) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature, it is to be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

Wards of the borough of Pendle and number of councillors

- **3.**—(1) The existing wards of the borough of Pendle are abolished.
- (2) The borough of Pendle is divided into the 12 wards listed in the first column of the table in Schedule 1.
 - (3) Each ward comprises the area identified on the map by reference to the name of the ward.
- (4) The number of councillors to be elected for each ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of the table in Schedule 1.

Elections of the borough of Pendle

- **4.**—(1) Elections of all councillors for each ward of the borough of Pendle are to be held simultaneously on the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2020.
- (2) The councillors holding office for any ward abolished by article 3(1) immediately before the fourth day after the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2020 are to retire on that fourth day, and the newly elected councillors are to come into office on that fourth day.
- (3) Of the councillors elected for a ward in 2020 each is to retire in accordance with the provision made in the table in Schedule 2.

⁽¹⁾ The ordinary day of election of councillors in England is prescribed by section 37(1) of the Representation of the People Act 1983 (c. 2), as amended by section 18(2) of the Representation of the People Act 1985 (c. 50) and section 6(16) of the Wales Act 2017 (c. 4).

⁽²⁾ Prints of the map are available for inspection at reasonable times at the principal office of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England, 1st Floor, Windsor House, 50 Victoria Street, London, SW1H 0TL. It is also accessible online at https://www.lgbce.org.uk/all-reviews/north-west/lancashire/pendle.

- (4) Of the councillors elected in 2020—
 - (a) the first to retire is to be the councillor elected by the smallest number of votes; and
 - (b) the second to retire is to be the councillor elected by the next smallest number of votes.
- (5) In the case of an equality of votes between any persons elected which makes it uncertain which of them is to retire in any year, the person to retire in that year is to be determined by lot.
- (6) If an election of councillors for any ward is not contested, the person to retire in each year is to be determined by lot.
- (7) An election to replace a councillor who is to retire under paragraph (3) is to be held on the ordinary day of election of councillors in the year in which the retirement is due to take place, and any newly elected councillor is to come into office on the fourth day after that day.
- (8) Where under this article any question is to be determined by lot, the lot is to be drawn at the next practicable meeting of the council after the question has arisen and the drawing is to be conducted under the direction of the person presiding at the meeting.

Wards of the parishes of Barnoldswick, Colne and Nelson

- 5.—(1) The existing wards of the parishes of Barnoldswick, Colne and Nelson are abolished.
- (2) The parish of Barnoldswick is divided into the three parish wards listed in the first column of table 1 in Schedule 3.
- (3) The parish of Colne is divided into the five parish wards listed in the first column of table 2 in Schedule 3.
- (4) The parish of Nelson is divided into the seven parish wards listed in the first column of table 3 in Schedule 3.
- (5) Each parish ward comprises the area identified on the map by reference to the name of the parish ward.
- (6) The number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of the relevant table in Schedule 3.

Sealed with the seal of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England

Name
Chief Executive
Local Government Boundary Commission for
England

Date