Draft Order laid before Parliament under section 117(2) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009, for approval by resolution of each House of Parliament.

DRAFT STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2018 No. 000

LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND EDUCATION, ENGLAND

The Tees Valley Combined Authority (Adult Education Functions) Order 2018

Made - - - ***

Coming into force in accordance with article 1

The Secretary of State, in exercise of the powers conferred by sections 105A(1)(a), (2)(a), (3)(a) and (b), and (7), 114(1) and 117(5) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009(1)("the Local Democracy Act"), makes the following Order:

In accordance with section 105B(1) of the Local Democracy Act(2), the Tees Valley Combined Authority and each of the constituent councils(3) whose areas are within the area of the Combined Authority has consented to the making of this Order.

The Secretary of State considers that the making of this Order is likely to improve the exercise of statutory functions in the area to which the Order relates.

In accordance with section 105B(9) of the Local Democracy Act, the Secretary of State has laid before Parliament a report explaining the effect of this Order and explaining why the Secretary of State considers it appropriate to make this Order.

A draft of this statutory instrument has been laid before, and approved by a resolution of, each House of Parliament pursuant to section 117(2) of the Local Democracy Act.

^{(1) 2009} c. 20. Section 105A was inserted by section 7 of the Cities and Local Government Devolution Act 2016 (c. 1) ("the 2016 Act"). Section 114 was amended by Schedule 5 to the 2016 Act. Section 117 was amended by section 13 of the Localism Act 2011 (c. 20) and by section 23 of, and paragraphs 17 and 29(1) and (2) of Schedule 5 to, the 2016 Act.

⁽²⁾ Section 105B was inserted by section 7 of the Cities and Local Government Devolution Act 2016 (c. 1).

⁽³⁾ The constituent councils of the Tees Valley Combined Authority are the councils for the local government areas of Darlington, Hartlepool, Middlesbrough, Redcar and Cleveland and Stockton-on-Tees.