Draft Order laid before Parliament under section 59(9) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009; draft to lie for forty days pursuant to section 6(1) of the Statutory Instruments Act 1946, during which period either House of Parliament may resolve that the Order be not made.

DRAFT STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2017 No.

LOCAL GOVERNMENT, ENGLAND

The London Borough of Croydon (Electoral Changes) Order 2017

Made - - - - ***
Coming into force in accordance with article 1(2) and (3)

Under section 58(4) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009(1) ("the Act") the Local Government Boundary Commission for England(2) ("the Commission") published a report dated July 2017 stating its recommendations for changes to the electoral arrangements for the London Borough of Croydon. The Commission has decided to give effect to the recommendations.

A draft of the instrument has been laid before Parliament and a period of forty days has expired since the day on which it was laid and neither House has resolved that the instrument be not made.

The Commission makes the following Order in exercise of the power conferred by section 59(1) of the Act.

Citation, commencement and application

- **1.**—(1) This Order may be cited as the London Borough of Croydon (Electoral Changes) Order 2017.
 - (2) This article and article 2 come into force on the day after the day on which this Order is made.
 - (3) Article 3 comes into force—
 - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to the election of councillors, on the day after the day on which this Order is made;
 - (b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of election of councillors(3) in 2018.

^{(1) 2009} c. 20.

⁽²⁾ The Local Government Boundary Commission for England was established on 1st April 2010 by section 55(1) of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009.

⁽³⁾ The ordinary day of election of councillors in England and Wales is prescribed by section 37 of the Representation of the People Act 1983 (c. 2), as amended by section 18(2) of the Representation of the People Act 1985 (c. 50).

Interpretation

- **2.**—(1) In this Order, "the map" means the map marked "Map referred to in the London Borough of Croydon (Electoral Changes) Order 2017", held by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England(4).
- (2) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature, it is to be treated as running along the centre line of the feature

Wards of the London Borough of Croydon and number of councillors

- **3.**—(1) The existing wards of the London Borough of Croydon are abolished.
- (2) The London Borough of Croydon is divided into 28 wards as listed in the first column of the table in the Schedule.
 - (3) Each ward comprises the area identified on the map by reference to the name of the ward.
- (4) The number of councillors to be elected for each ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of the table in the Schedule.

Sealed with the seal of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England

Name
Chief Executive
Local Government Boundary Commission for
England

Date

⁽⁴⁾ Prints of the map are available for inspection at reasonable times at the principal office of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England, 14th floor, Millbank Tower, London, SW1P 4QP. It is also accessible online at https://www.lgbce.org.uk/current-reviews/greater-london/croydon

SCHEDULE Article 3

Names of wards and number of councillors

(1)	(2)
Name of ward	Number of councillors
Addiscombe East	2
Addiscombe West	3
Bensham Manor	3
Broad Green	3
Coulsdon Town	3
Crystal Palace & Upper Norwood	3
Fairfield	3
Kenley	2
New Addington North	2
New Addington South	2
Norbury & Pollards Hill	2
Norbury Park	2
Old Coulsdon	2
Park Hill & Whitgift	1
Purley & Woodcote	3
Purley Oaks & Riddlesdown	2
Sanderstead	3
Selhurst	2
Selsdon & Addington Village	2
Selsdon Vale & Forestdale	2
Shirley North	3
Shirley South	2
South Croydon	3
South Norwood	3
Thornton Heath	3
Waddon	3
West Thornton	3
Woodside	3

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order makes changes to electoral arrangements for the London Borough of Croydon following recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England. The area of the London Borough of Croydon remains unchanged. The changes made by this Order apply in respect of local government elections held on and after the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2018.

Article 3 abolishes the existing electoral wards of the London Borough of Croydon and replaces them with 28 new ones. It establishes the names and areas of the new electoral wards and the number of councillors for each.

The area covered by each ward created by this Order is identified on a map which is available for inspection at reasonable times at the offices of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England, 14th floor, Millbank Tower, London SW1P 4QP. The map may also be accessed at https://www.lgbce.org.uk/current-reviews/greater-london/croydon

An impact assessment has not been produced for this instrument as no impact on the private or voluntary sectors is foreseen.