## **EXPLANATORY NOTE**

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order makes changes to the electoral arrangements for the city of Newcastle upon Tyne following recommendations made by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England. The area of the city remains unchanged.

The changes which articles 3 and 4 introduce begin to apply to local government elections in 2018. Article 3 abolishes the existing electoral wards comprising the area covered by the city of Newcastle upon Tyne and provides that Newcastle upon Tyne is divided into 26 wards and names each of them. Each of those wards is represented by three councillors. Article 4 makes provision for the means by which councillors are to retire

Article 5 makes provision in respect of one parish which is consequential to certain of the changes introduced by article 3, and applies to local government elections in 2019.

The area covered by each ward created by this Order is identified on a map which is available for inspection at reasonable times at the offices of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England, 14th floor, Millbank Tower, London SW1P 4QP. The map may also be accessed at https://www.lgbce.org.uk/current-reviews/north-east/tyne-and-wear/newcastle-upon-tyne

An impact assessment has not been produced for this instrument as no impact on the private or voluntary sectors is foreseen.