#### DRAFT STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

# 2016 No.

# The Welwyn Hatfield (Electoral Changes) Order 2016

#### Citation and commencement

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the Welwyn Hatfield (Electoral Changes) Order 2016.
- (2) This article and article 2 come into force on the day after this Order is made.
- (3) Articles 3 and 4 of this Order come into force—
  - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to the election of councillors, on the day after this Order is made;
  - (b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of election of councillors(1) in 2016.
- (4) The remainder of this Order comes into force—
  - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to the election of councillors, on the day after this Order is made;
  - (b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2019.

#### Interpretation

- **2.**—(1) In this Order "the map" means the map marked "Map referred to in the Welwyn Hatfield (Electoral Changes) Order 2016, held by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England(2).
- (2) Where the boundary of a ward or parish ward is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature, it is to be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

## Wards of the District of Welwyn Hatfield and number of councillors

- **3.**—(1) The existing wards of the district of Welwyn Hatfield are abolished.
- (2) The district of Welwyn Hatfield is divided into the 16 wards in the following list—

Brookmans Park & Little Heath

Haldens

Handside

Hatfield Central

Hatfield East

Hatfield South West

Hatfield Villages

Hollybush

<sup>(1)</sup> The ordinary day of election of councillors is prescribed by section 37 of the Representation of the People Act 1983 c.2.

<sup>(2)</sup> Prints of the map are available for inspection at reasonable times at the principal office of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England, 14th floor, Millbank Tower, London SW1P 4QP and is also accessible online at http://www.lgbce.org.uk/current-reviews/eastern/hertfordshire/welwyn-hatfield.

Howlands

Northaw & Cuffley

Panshanger

Peartree

Sherrards

Welham Green & Hatfield South

Welwyn East

Welwyn West

- (3) Each ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the ward.
- (4) Three councillors are to be elected for each ward.

## Elections of the council of the district of Welwyn Hatfield

- **4.**—(1) Elections of all councillors of each ward of the district of Welwyn Hatfield are to be held simultaneously on the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2016.
- (2) The councillors holding office for any ward abolished by article 3(1) immediately before the fourth day after the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2016 are to retire on that fourth day and the newly elected councillors are to come into office on that fourth day.
- (3) Of the councillors elected for a ward in 2016, one shall retire on the fourth day after the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2018, one on the fourth day after the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2019 and one on the fourth day after the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2020.
  - (4) Of the councillors elected in 2016, subject to paragraphs (5) and (6)—
    - (a) the first to retire is to be the councillor elected by the smallest number of votes; and
    - (b) the second to retire is to be the councillor elected by the next smallest number of votes.
- (5) In the case of an equality of votes between any persons elected which makes it uncertain which of them is to retire in any year, the person to retire in that year is to be determined by lot.
- (6) If an election of councillors for any ward is not contested, the person to retire in each year is to be determined by lot.
- (7) An election to replace a councillor who retires under paragraph (3) is to be held on the ordinary day of election of councillors in the year in which the retirement took place and the newly elected councillors are to come into office on the fourth day after that day.
- (8) Where under this article any question is to be determined by lot, the lot is to be drawn at the next practicable meeting of the council after the question has arisen and the drawing is to be conducted under the direction of the person presiding at the meeting.

#### Wards of the parish of Welwyn and number of councillors

- **5.**—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Welwyn are abolished.
- (2) The parish of Welwyn is divided into four parish wards as listed in the first column of table 1 in the Schedule.
- (3) Each parish ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the parish ward.
- (4) The number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of table 1 in the Schedule.

#### Wards of the parish of Hatfield and number of councillors

- **6.**—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Hatfield are abolished.
- (2) The parish of Hatfield is divided into ten parish wards as listed in the first column of table 2 in the Schedule.
- (3) Each parish ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the parish ward.
- (4) The number of councillors to be elected for each parish ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of table 2 in the Schedule.

Sealed with the seal of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England

Name
Chairman
Local Government Boundary Commission for
England

Date