DRAFT STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2014 No.

The Shepway (Electoral Changes) Order 2014

Citation and commencement

- 1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the Shepway (Electoral Changes) Order 2014.
- (2) This Order comes into force—
 - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to the election of councillors, on 15th October 2014;
 - (b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2015.

Interpretation

2. In this Order—

"map" means the map marked "Map referred to in the Shepway (Electoral Changes) Order 2014", prints of which are available for inspection at the principal office of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England;

"ordinary day of election of councillors" has the meaning given by section 37 of the Representation of the People Act 1983(1).

Wards of the district of Shepway and number of councillors

- **3.**—(1) The existing wards of the district of Shepway are abolished.
- (2) The district of Shepway is divided into 13 district wards, each listed by name in the first column of the table in the Schedule.
- (3) Each district ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the district ward.
- (4) The number of councillors to be elected for each district ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in the second column of the table in the Schedule.
- (5) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature, it is to be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

Wards of the parish of Folkestone and number of councillors

- **4.**—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Folkestone are abolished.
- (2) The parish of Folkestone is divided into seven parish wards named respectively—
 - (a) Broadmead;
 - (b) Central;

^{(1) 1983} c.2; section 37 has been amended by section 18(2) of the Representation of the People Act 1985 (c.50), paragraph 5 of Schedule 3 to the Greater London Authority Act 1999 (c.29) and section 60(1) of the Local Government and Public Involvement in Health Act 2007 (c.28).

- (c) Cheriton;
- (d) East Folkestone;
- (e) Harbour;
- (f) Harvey West;
- (g) North-East Folkestone.
- (3) Each parish ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the parish ward.
 - (4) Two councillors are to be elected for each of Broadmead and Harbour parish wards.
- (5) Four councillors are to be elected for each of Central, Cheriton and East Folkestone parish wards.
- (6) One councillor is to be elected for each of Harvey West and North-East Folkestone parish wards.

Sealed with the seal of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England

Name Chairman Local Government Boundary Commission for England

Date