DRAFT STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2012 No.

The Staffordshire (Electoral Changes) Order 2012

Citation

1. This Order may be cited as the Staffordshire (Electoral Changes) Order 2012.

Commencement

- 2.—(1) This Order, with the exception of articles 5 to 11, comes into force—
 - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to the elections of councillors for county electoral divisions, on 15th October 2012;
 - (b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2013.
- (2) Articles 5 to 11 come into force—
 - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to the elections of parish councillors, on 15th October 2014;
 - (b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2015.

Interpretation

3. In this Order—

"map" means the map marked "Map referred to in the Staffordshire (Electoral Changes) Order 2012", of which prints are available for inspection at the principal office of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England;

"ordinary day of election of councillors" has the meaning given by section 37 of the Representation of the People Act 1983(1).

Electoral divisions of the county of Staffordshire and number of councillors

- **4.**—(1) The existing electoral divisions of the county of Staffordshire are abolished.
- (2) The county is divided into sixty electoral divisions each bearing a name listed in column 1 of the Schedule.
- (3) Each electoral division comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the electoral division.
- (4) The number of councillors to be elected for each electoral division is the number specified in relation to that electoral division in column 2 of the Schedule.
- (5) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature, it is to be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

^{(1) 1983} c.2. Section 37 has been amended by section 18(2) of the Representation of the People Act 1985 (c.50), section 17 of the Greater London Authority Act 1999 (c.29) and section 60 of the Local Government and Public Involvement in Health Act 2007 (c.28).

Wards of the parish of Branston and number of councillors

- 5.—(1) The parish of Branston is divided into two wards named respectively—
 - (a) Branston;
 - (b) Henhurst.
- (2) Each ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the ward.
- (3) Nine councillors are to be elected for Branston ward.
- (4) Two councillors are to be elected for Henhurst ward.

Wards of the parish of Burntwood and number of councillors

- **6.**—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Burntwood are abolished.
- (2) The parish is divided into nine wards named respectively—
 - (a) All Saints;
 - (b) Boney Hay;
 - (c) Burntwood Central;
 - (d) Burntwood Green;
 - (e) Chase Terrace;
 - (f) Chasetown;
 - (g) Highfield;
 - (h) Rake Hill;
 - (i) Summerfield.
- (3) Each ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the ward.
- (4) Four councillors are to be elected for Chase Terrace ward.
- (5) Three councillors are to be elected for each of the following wards:
 - (a) All Saints;
 - (b) Boney Hay;
 - (c) Burntwood Central;
 - (d) Chasetown;
 - (e) Summerfield.
- (6) One councillor is to be elected for each of the following wards:
 - (a) Burntwood Green;
 - (b) Highfield;
 - (c) Rake Hill.

Wards of the parish of Horninglow and Eton and number of councillors

- 7.—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Horninglow and Eton are abolished.
- (2) The parish is divided into three wards named respectively—
 - (a) Eton;
 - (b) Horninglow;
 - (c) Tutbury Road.
- (3) Each ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the ward.

- (4) Seven councillors are to be elected for Horninglow ward.
- (5) Six councillors are to be elected for Eton ward.
- (6) Two councillors are to be elected for Tutbury Road ward.

Wards of the parish of Leek and number of councillors

- **8.**—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Leek are abolished.
- (2) The parish is divided into six wards named respectively—
 - (a) Birchall;
 - (b) Leekbrook;
 - (c) Leek East;
 - (d) Leek North;
 - (e) Leek South;
 - (f) Leek West.
- (3) Each ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the ward.
- (4) Two councillors are to be elected for each ward.

Wards of the parish of Penkridge and number of councillors

- **9.**—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Penkridge are abolished.
- (2) The parish is divided into five wards named respectively—
 - (a) Gailey;
 - (b) Levedale;
 - (c) North East;
 - (d) South East;
 - (e) West.
- (3) Each ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the ward.
- (4) Six councillors are to be elected for South East ward.
- (5) Four councillors are to be elected for North East ward.
- (6) Three councillors are to be elected for West ward.
- (7) One councillor is to be elected for each of the following wards:
 - (a) Gailey;
 - (b) Levedale.

Wards of the parish of Seighford and number of councillors

- **10.**—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Seighford are abolished.
- (2) The parish is divided into three wards named respectively—
 - (a) Derrington;
 - (b) Great Bridgeford;
 - (c) Seighford.
- (3) Each ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the ward.
- (4) Four councillors are to be elected for Derrington ward.

- (5) Three councillors are to be elected for Great Bridgeford ward.
- (6) One councillor is to be elected for Seighford ward.

Wards of the parish of Stone and number of councillors

- 11.—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Stone are abolished.
- (2) The parish is divided into four wards named respectively—
 - (a) St Michael's;
 - (b) Stonefield and Christchurch;
 - (c) Walton North;
 - (d) Walton South.
- (3) Each ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the ward.
- (4) Five councillors are to be elected for each of the following wards:
 - (a) St Michael's;
 - (b) Stonefield and Christchurch;
 - (c) Walton South.
- (5) Three councillors are to be elected for Walton North ward.

Sealed with the seal of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England on the

Chairman Local Government Boundary Commission for England