DRAFT STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2011 No.

The Central Bedfordshire (Electoral Changes) Order 2011

Citation and commencement

1.—(1) This Order may be cited as the Central Bedfordshire (Electoral Changes) Order 2011.

- (2) This Order comes into force—
 - (a) for the purpose of proceedings preliminary or relating to the elections of councillors, on the day after that on which it is made;
 - (b) for all other purposes, on the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2011.

Interpretation

2. In this Order—

"map" means the map marked "Map referred to in the Central Bedfordshire (Electoral Changes) Order 2011", of which prints are available for inspection at the principal office of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England;

"ordinary day of election of councillors" has the meaning given by section 37 of the Representation of the People Act 1983(1).

Wards of the district of Central Bedfordshire and number of councillors

3.—(1) The existing wards of the district of Central Bedfordshire are abolished.

- (2) The district is divided into thirty-one wards each bearing a name listed in the Schedule.
- (3) Each ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the ward.

(4) The number of councillors to be elected for each ward is the number specified in relation to that ward in column 2 of the Schedule.

(5) Where a boundary is shown on the map as running along a road, railway line, footway, watercourse or similar geographical feature, it is to be treated as running along the centre line of the feature.

Wards of the parish of Biggleswade and number of councillors

4.—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Biggleswade are abolished.

- (2) The parish is divided into three wards named respectively—
 - (a) Holme;
 - (b) Ivel;
 - (c) Stratton.
- (3) Each ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the ward.

 ¹⁹⁸³ c.2. Section 37 has been amended by section 18(2) of the Representation of the People Act 1985 (c.50), section 17 of the Greater London Authority Act 1999 (c.29) and section 60 of the Local Government and Public Involvement in Health Act 2007 (c.28).

- (4) Seven councillors are to be elected for Ivel ward.
- (5) Five councillors are to be elected for Stratton ward.
- (6) Three councillors are to be elected for Holme ward.

Wards of the parish of Dunstable and number of councillors

- **5.**—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Dunstable are abolished.
- (2) The parish is divided into five wards named respectively—
 - (a) Central;
 - (b) Icknield;
 - (c) Manshead;
 - (d) Northfields;
 - (e) Watling.
- (3) Each ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the ward.
- (4) Five councillors are to be elected for each of the following wards:
 - (a) Icknield;
 - (b) Northfields;
 - (c) Watling.
- (5) Three councillors are to be elected for each of the following wards:
 - (a) Central;
 - (b) Manshead.

Wards of the parish of Houghton Regis and number of councillors

- 6.—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Houghton Regis are abolished.
- (2) The parish is divided into three wards named respectively—
 - (a) Houghton Hall;
 - (b) Parkside;
 - (c) Tithe Farm.
- (3) Each ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the ward.
- (4) Six councillors are to be elected for Houghton Hall ward.
- (5) Four councillors are to be elected for each of the following wards:
 - (a) Parkside;
 - (b) Tithe Farm.

Wards of the parish of Leighton-Linslade and number of councillors

- 7.—(1) The existing wards of the parish of Leighton-Linslade are abolished.
- (2) The parish is divided into eight wards named respectively—
 - (a) Barnabas;
 - (b) Brooklands;
 - (c) Grovebury;
 - (d) Leston;

- (e) Planets;
- (f) Plantation;
- (g) Southcott;
- (h) St George's.
- (3) Each ward comprises the area designated on the map by reference to the name of the ward.
- (4) Four councillors are to be elected for each of the following wards:
 - (a) Grovebury;
 - (b) Southcott.
- (5) Three councillors are to be elected for each of the following wards:
 - (a) Barnabas;
 - (b) Plantation.
- (6) Two councillors are to be elected for each of the following wards:
 - (a) Brooklands;
 - (b) Planets;
 - (c) St George's.
- (7) One councillor is to be elected for Leston ward.

Sealed with the seal of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England on the

Chairman Local Government Boundary Commission for England