DRAFT STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2008 No.

The Northumberland (Structural Change) Order 2008

PART 5

ELECTORAL MATTERS

Northumberland council election in 2008

- 13.—(1) A whole council election of councillors of the Northumberland council shall be held on the 2008 election day, on the ordinary day of election of councillors(1) in 2013, and every fourth year thereafter.
- (2) The term of office of councillors elected to the Northumberland council in 2005 or at any byelection held after the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2005 and before the 2008 election day shall end on the fourth day after the 2008 election day.
- (3) Notwithstanding section 7(1) of the 1972 Act, the term of office of councillors elected to the Northumberland council on the 2008 election day shall be five years, and they shall retire on the fourth day after the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2013.
- (4) The proper officer of the Northumberland council shall take such steps as are necessary or appropriate to prepare for the 2008 election, including the making of all necessary alterations in the electoral register.
- (5) For the purposes of the 2008 election, an electoral division for which, under the Northumberland (Electoral Changes) Order 2000(2) ("the 2000 Order"), one member is returned, shall return one councillor.
- (6) In this article "electoral division" means an electoral division of Northumberland established by article 3 of the 2000 Order.

Cancellation of parish council elections, etc

- 14. Notwithstanding section 16(3) of the 1972 Act (election of parish councillors)—
 - (a) elections shall not be held in 2011 for the return of councillors to the council of any parish in Northumberland; and
 - (b) the term of office of parish councillors elected in 2007 or at any subsequent by-election held before the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2013 shall end on the fourth day after the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2013(3).
- (2) Elections of parish councillors for those parishes in which, but for paragraph (1), elections would have been held in 2011 shall be held on the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2013 and every fourth year thereafter.

⁽¹⁾ See section 37 of the Representation of the People Act 1983 (c.2).

⁽²⁾ S.I. 2000/2490.

⁽³⁾ Under section 16(3) of the Local Government Act 1972, the term of office of parish councillors is four years.

Draft Legislation: This is a draft item of legislation and has not yet been made as a UK Statutory Instrument.