DRAFT STATUTORY INSTRUMENTS

2008 No.

The Shropshire (Structural Change) Order 2008

PART 5

ELECTORAL MATTERS

Cancellation of parish council elections, etc

13.—(1) Notwithstanding section 16(3) of the 1972 Act (election of parish councillors)—

(a) elections shall not be held in 2008 for the return of councillors to the council of the following parishes—

Alberbury with Cardeston,

Ford,

Minsterley,

Pontesbury, and

Westbury;

- (b) elections of parish councillors for those parishes shall be held on the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2009 and every four years thereafter; and
- (c) the term of office of the councillors elected for those parishes in 2004 or at any subsequent by-election before the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2009, shall end on the fourth day after the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2009(1).
- (2) Notwithstanding section 16(3) of the 1972 Act (election of parish councillors)—
 - (a) elections shall not be held in 2010 for the return of councillors to the council of the following parishes—

Acton Burnell/Pitchford/Frodesley/Ruckley and Langley(2),

All Stretton/Smethcott/Woolaston(3),

Buildwas,

Cardington,

Church Preen/Hughley/Kenley(4),

Church Pulverbatch,

Condover,

Cound,

Cressage/Harley/Sheinton(5),

⁽¹⁾ Under section 16(3) of the Local Government Act 1972, the term of office of parish councillors is four years.

⁽²⁾ These are separate parishes but are grouped under a common parish council. See section 11 of the Local Government Act 1972.

 ⁽³⁾ These are separate parishes but are grouped under a common parish council. See section 11 of the Local Government Act 1972.
(4) These are separate parishes but are grouped under a common parish council. See section 11 of the Local Government Act 1972.

 ⁽⁴⁾ These are separate parishes but are grouped under a common parish council. See section 11 of the Local Government Act 1972.
(5) These are separate parishes but are grouped under a common parish council. See section 11 of the Local Government Act 1972.

Leebotwood & Longnor,

Leighton & Eaton Constantine, and

Wroxeter & Uppington;

- (b) elections of parish councillors for those parishes shall be held on the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2009 and every four years thereafter; and
- (c) the term of office of the councillors elected for those parishes in 2006 or at any subsequent by-election before the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2009, shall end on the fourth day after the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2009(6).
- (3) Notwithstanding section 16(3) of the 1972 Act (election of parish councillors)—
 - (a) elections shall not be held in 2011 for the return of councillors to the council of any parish in Shropshire;
 - (b) elections of parish councillors for those parishes in which, but for sub-paragraph (a), elections would have been held in 2011 shall be held on the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2013 and every four years thereafter; and
 - (c) the term of office of the councillors elected for those parishes in 2007 or at any subsequent by-election before the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2013, shall end on the fourth day after the ordinary day of election of councillors in 2013(7).

⁽⁶⁾ Under section 16(3) of the Local Government Act 1972, the term of office of parish councillors is four years.

⁽⁷⁾ Under section 16(3) of the Local Government Act 1972, the term of office of parish councillors is four years.