

Cathedrals Measure 2021

2021 No. 2

Bodies

3 The College of Canons

- (1) For each cathedral, there is to continue to be a body established by the constitution called the College of Canons (but, by virtue of section 2(2), neither that body nor its members form part of the body corporate for the cathedral).
- (2) The members of the College of Canons are—
 - (a) the dean,
 - (b) every suffragan bishop of the diocese,
 - (c) every canon of the cathedral, and
 - (d) every archdeacon of the diocese.
- (3) The functions conferred by the Appointment of Bishops Act 1533 on the body referred to in that Act as the dean and chapter of a cathedral are exercisable by the College of Canons of the cathedral; and that Act is to be read accordingly.
- (4) The College of Canons has such other functions as may be conferred on it by the constitution or statutes.
- (5) In subsection (2)(c), "canon" includes a lay canon and a non-residentiary canon but not a minor canon; and "non-residentiary canon" includes a prebendary who is not a residentiary canon.
- (6) Schedule 2 (which modifies this section in relation to the diocese of Leeds) has effect.