SCHEDULES

SCHEDULE 1

THE ARCHBISHOPS' COUNCIL

PART I

CONSTITUTION AND MEMBERSHIP

- 1 (1) The Council shall consist of—
 - (a) the Archbishops of Canterbury and York;
 - (b) the Prolocutors of the Convocations of Canterbury and York;
 - (c) the chairman and vice-chairman of the House of Laity;
 - (d) two bishops elected by the House of Bishops from among its members;
 - (e) two clerks in Holy Orders elected by the House of Clergy from among its members;
 - (f) two lay persons elected by the House of Laity from among its members;
 - (g) such persons as may be appointed under sub-paragraph (2) below;
 - (h) one of the Church Estates Commissioners appointed by the Archbishops of Canterbury and York acting jointly.
 - (2) Subject to sub-paragraph (3) below, the Archbishops of Canterbury and York, acting jointly, may appoint not more than six persons as members of the Council.
 - (3) No appointment under sub-paragraph (2) above shall be made without the approval of the General Synod; and in considering the making of any such appointment (except on the first occasion when the power to appoint is exercised) the Archbishops of Canterbury and York shall consult the Council and the Appointments Committee of the Church of England.