## 2010 No. 449

# **COURT OF SESSION**

# The Number of Inner House Judges (Variation) Order 2010

Made - - - - 15th December 2010

Coming into force in accordance with article 1

The Scottish Ministers make the following Order in exercise of the powers conferred by section 2(2A) and (2B) of the Court of Session Act 1988(a) and all other powers enabling them to do so.

In accordance with section 2(2A) of that Act, they have consulted the Lord President.

In accordance with section 2(2D) of that Act, a draft of this instrument has been laid before and approved by resolution of the Scottish Parliament.

#### Citation and commencement

1. This Order may be cited as the Number of Inner House Judges (Variation) Order 2010 and comes into force on the day after the day on which it is made.

## Alteration of the number of senior judges in the First Division of the Inner House

**2.** In section 2(2) (composition of court) of the Court of Session Act 1988(b) for "four" substitute "five".

KENNY MACASKILL
A member of the Scottish Executive

St Andrew's House, Edinburgh 15th December 2010

<sup>(</sup>a) 1988 c.36; section 2(2A) to 2(2D) was inserted by the Bail, Judicial Appointments etc. (Scotland) Act 2000 (asp 9), section 5(a). Section 2(2A) was amended by the Judiciary and Courts (Scotland) Act 2008 (asp 6), section 45.

<sup>(</sup>b) 1988 c.36; section 2(2) was amended by S.S.I. 2001/41 and 2007/258.

### **EXPLANATORY NOTE**

(This note is not part of the Order)

This Order amends section 2(2) of the Court of Session Act 1988 to increase the number of senior judges in the First Division of the Inner House of the Court of Session from four to five. The total number of judges in the Inner House, including the Lord President and the Lord Justice Clerk, will therefore increase from eleven to twelve.

© Crown Copyright 2010

Printed in the UK by The Stationery Office Limited under the authority and superintendence of Carol Tullo, the Queen's Printer for Scotland.