STATUTORY RULES OF NORTHERN IRELAND

2012 No. 10

The Local Government (Constituting Joint Committees as Bodies Corporate) Order (Northern Ireland) 2012

Interpretation

2. In this Order:

"joint committee" means a committee formed pursuant to Section 19 of the Local Government Act (Northern Ireland) 1972 by participant councils in pursuance of the terms of the agreement;

"the agreement" means the agreement entered into by the participant councils to form a joint committee to implement the waste management plan and reference to the agreement shall be construed as reference to the agreement as revised or replaced from time to time;

"the participant councils" in the case of arc21, means Antrim Borough Council, Ards Borough Council, Ballymena Borough Council, Belfast City Council, Carrickfergus Borough Council, Castlereagh Borough Council, Down District Council, Larne Borough Council, Lisburn City Council, Newtownabbey Borough Council, North Down Borough Council;

"the participant councils" in the case of SWaMP2008, means Armagh City and District Council, Banbridge District Council, Cookstown District Council, Craigavon Borough Council, Dungannon and South Tyrone Borough Council, Fermanagh District Council, Newry and Mourne District Council and Omagh District Council;

"the waste management plan" means the sub-regional waste management plan jointly determined by participant councils, pursuant to Article 23 of the Waste and Contaminated Land (Northern Ireland) Order 1997(1) which sets out the proposals of the participant councils as to how they will collectively deal with their waste arising over the term covered by the waste management plan and references to the waste management plan shall be construed as references to the plan as revised or replaced from time to time.