## **EXPLANATORY NOTE**

## (This note is not part of the Order)

This Order provides for there to be 7 local government districts in Northern Ireland. It also provides for the appointment of a Local Government Boundaries Commissioner to recommend the boundaries and names of the 7 districts and the number, boundaries and names of the wards into which each district is to be divided.

**Changes to legislation:** There are currently no known outstanding effects for the The Local Government (Boundaries) (Northern Ireland) Order 2006.