Search Legislation

Explanatory Memorandum to Criminal Justice (Evidence) (Northern Ireland) Order 2004

Main Elements of the Order

6.The order contains 46 Articles and 2 Schedules and is divided into 5 Parts. Part I contains introductory provisions. Part II relates to evidence of bad character and Part III to hearsay evidence, whilst Part IV relates to other evidence. Part V relates to saving, supplementary and consequential provisions, orders, consequential amendments and repeals. Schedule 1 contains consequential amendments and Schedule 2 lists provisions to be repealed. Commentary is provided below.

Back to top


Print Options


More Resources

Access essential accompanying documents and information for this legislation item from this tab. Dependent on the legislation item being viewed this may include:

  • the original print PDF of the as enacted version that was used for the print copy
  • lists of changes made by and/or affecting this legislation item
  • confers power and blanket amendment details
  • all formats of all associated documents
  • correction slips
  • links to related legislation and further information resources