Search Legislation

Welfare of Animals Act (Northern Ireland) 2011


8.The Act contains 60 sections and 5 schedules, which replace the Welfare of Animals Act (Northern Ireland) 1972, and will be brought into operation by commencement orders. The Act covers various aspects of animal welfare and is in 6 Parts.

Back to top


Print Options


Explanatory Notes

Text created by the Northern Ireland Assembly department responsible for the subject matter of the Act to explain what the Act sets out to achieve and to make the Act accessible to readers who are not legally qualified. Explanatory Notes accompany all Acts of the Northern Ireland Assembly.


More Resources

Access essential accompanying documents and information for this legislation item from this tab. Dependent on the legislation item being viewed this may include:

  • the original print PDF of the as enacted version that was used for the print copy
  • lists of changes made by and/or affecting this legislation item
  • confers power and blanket amendment details
  • all formats of all associated documents
  • correction slips
  • links to related legislation and further information resources