

2008 CHAPTER 7

Local government districts and wards

- **1.**—(1) For the purposes of local government, Northern Ireland shall be divided into 11 districts (to be known as "local government districts").
- (2) The 11 local government districts shall incorporate, respectively, the whole or the major part of the following former local government districts—
 - (1) Antrim; Newtownabbey.
 - (2) Ards; North Down.
 - (3) Armagh City and District; Banbridge; Craigavon.
 - (4) Ballymena; Carrickfergus; Larne.
 - (5) Ballymoney; Coleraine; Limavady; Moyle.
 - (6) Belfast.
 - (7) Castlereagh; Lisburn City.
 - (8) Cookstown; Dungannon and South Tyrone Borough; Magherafelt.
 - (9) Derry; Strabane.
 - (10) Down; Newry and Mourne.
 - (11) Fermanagh; Omagh.
 - (3) Each local government district shall be divided into wards.
- (4) The boundaries and names of the local government districts and the number, boundaries and names of the wards into which each of those districts is divided shall be such as are prescribed by an order made under section 50(10) of the principal Act.
- (5) Reference in subsection (2) to a former local government district is to that district as constituted on the date on which this Act receives Royal Assent.